My Buddy….

I’ve just tried and failed to do a poem about my Bess, but nothing will work, nothing sounds right, it was too syrupy, it just, well,  sounded…ridiculous

SO, I’ll just say these words,

When I first had ownership of a small bundle of black and white fur of 8 weeks old, I had no idea how my life would be turned upside down. My home and garden too, if I’m perfectly honest.
My first and only dog, ..my own, she was dependant on me and my then husband of course, but she was my idea and therefore my responsibility.  We’ve been through so much, the joys of owning a dog, having a sidekick, someone like Bess, who just makes life worth living.  Alright I admit, I have called her :- trouble, fun, joy, love, heartache, pain and last of all ‘someone’ of whom I will say has increased my joy in day to day living. To wake up of a morning (6 o’clock for walkies) and see her, ever ready for play  (Ughh)…her eyes, asking all the while .’What are we doing today  ..eh? eh?’ …Her ability to change your mood from sadness to a smile as she tries to bury the glove you lost, the sock you’ve been missing for ages, the way she barks at the Freezer, an old enemy, it’s the cold air perhaps?  who knows…and the ‘under the feet’ syndrome, as you’re walking into a room, ‘where are we going?’ turns into a howl, from you, as she’s tries to beat you to the back door, maybe to try and find something interesting outside.  eh?  ‘Are we?’

Most of all, this larger, older bundle of black and white fur, is in my heart, she makes me cry when she’s not well, she makes me laugh when we play, and she is my buddy…The years are getting on, the grey hairs are coming, (Bess not me!!  Hmmff), and she’s showing her age, slowing down a bit, not much but just enough to show the years.  I love you, Bess, I love you loads…I never, ever thought about the end of this partnership of ours, but it will come and I don’t know what I’ll do without you.  For now, as I carry you up the stairs you used to take in a few bounds (Osteoarthritis), as you bark to be let out and I watch you slowly make your way into the garden, (one changed over the years from orderly to dog -friendly, a mess really!)..I wonder how I’ll cope..but I will. sadder and lonelier than I’ve ever felt before…but I would not wish to have missed out on your company, your wet nose on my bare feet and most of all you..

02-06-10_134455  .. MY Buddy..

Apologies for being sentimental..She’s was ill this week..and it’s been a bit traumatic…But she is better, and I hope and pray she stays that way, for a long while to come.. (she’s 13)

LadyP x

16 responses to “My Buddy….

  1. Good to receive your update. I’m happy that Bess’s health has improved they are so good for our health getting us out and about walking them etc.
    Have a great week

    Like

  2. I hope you have your Buddy around you for as long as you can, I know how you feel, for I too have been where you are now,
    Thinking of you both
    Sue

    Like

  3. Bess has given much love to you in life I see ,you have been through all that makes having a faithful loving dog worthwhile , the fun , the games , the love , the laughter and joys , now in the twilight time of her life she will not fail you and you wont fail her,hugs to you both
    Ian

    Like

  4. that thought ,one day they’ll go .
    how will i feel , i think i know.
    great sadness will envelope me’
    ‘cos my friend i will no longer see.

    Like

  5. Of course this made me cry. I love Bess’ picture – that long nose with the soft warm/cool black tip – so good for kissing — and those warm eyes. I know just what her fur feels like. Our first dog as grown-ups was a border collie – Storm Cloud or Stormy. That’s just what she looked like. Your poem about Bess will come when it’s ready.
    Good wishes, Monica

    Like

  6. Beautiful hun – she’ll always be with you my friend, if not in life (and we all know this comes) then waiting for you when you’re time comes around.

    THAT is the true friendship of a pet and friend…

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

    Like

  7. My Buddy….: http://t.co/u7iEgL0
    Oh Pen, that was so heartfelt, I know exactly how you feel, I’ve felt that way with every dog I’ve owned, and the heartache of losing them doesn’t get any easier, Just asking, why do we do it? because the rewards are worth the heartache, I’ve been there several times, but we do recover.
    Arlene

    Like

  8. That was one of the best blogs I have ever read in my life, the love you both have gave me joy and also tears…It gave me back the memories I had with my dog many years ago, he lived for 18 years and he still lives in my heart…Bless you for this, I hope and pray that Bess will stay with you always, big HUGS…Lynn xx

    Like

  9. Hi Pen!🙂

    Yep: Nothing like 20/20 hindsight!!!🙂

    Sounds like you’re going to have to strip the doors that didn’t make the cut – but that’s in the future!!! LoL!!!

    Hope you have a great weekend – tomorrow I see the dentist and it usually means pain!!!

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

    Like

  10. No need to apologize, I think we understand. I love my Kady and she is only 4, but she is the best dog I have ever had. She runs in circles when I come home, althought I rarely leave with out her. LOL
    Wonderful news that she is getting better. smiles from my heart to you both.
    Rx

    Like

  11. Bess is indeed a most beautiful friend, a dog some would say? However I beg to differ as our pets are much, much more than that, they are our family, our very dear friends and as time takes hold we realise just how much they mean to us, the time runs by quickly, like sand running through our fingers, in between we have all those wonderful moments, yes there are many sweet times but as with all time, age creeps upon our pets…

    We begin to see them maturing, slowing down and sometimes becoming ill, I am pleased that Bess is doing so well at the tender age of thirteen, the love you hold dear strengthens your bond, and what you have in Bess is a very dear, loving and faithful friend.

    May it continue for many more years to come… A most wonderful story Lady Pen and thank you for sharing this lovely part of your life here with us… Androgoth XXx

    Like

  12. im happy for you that shes better pen lovely dogs border collies i used to have them i had one until he was 17 i got him at 6 weeks old in germany he went everywhere with me he used to get me in lots of truoble lol xxjen

    Like

  13. All wishs for you and Bess having a long time friend and as same time thinking of both of you.
    Big Hugs,
    Michiko

    Like

  14. Hi Lady P,
    Your poem for your beloved dog is really beautiful and sweet. It’s both amazing and wonderful how much love and attachment we can have for our dogs. I hope your Bess has good health and is with you for long to come.
    Big hugs, Nikki

    Like

  15. That’s really lovely what you’ve written for Bess, what a lucky dog she is to be loved so much by you. It is sad when they get on and have health issues. I don’t have a dog at present, but I do have 4 cats and 2 of them are geriatric and my Basil is terminally ill, I almost panic when I think about being without him, any of them. They really are our best friends aren’t they?
    I’m glad your Bess is feeling better.

    Like

  16. Your Bess is beautiful and I know EXACTLY how you feel! Had dogs all my life and the most special was a wonderful Dalmatian who passed away three years ago at the age of 15.5. So glad to hear Bess is feeling better now. Veterinary medicine has improved much over the last ten years and we can do more for our pets now. Of course, the expense is often daunting, but, well worth it, I say. There’s nothing better than the unconditional love you experience when you have a pet.🙂

    Like

☞ ...your thoughts in response are very welcome .....☋

