A Long Thin Tale…

 

Dreamtime

Last night I dreamt
that I had died
it was so sad
I could have cried.
I looked around
but couldn’t see
where on Earth
I could be
NO-one about
Just an open gate
I wondered
should I go in or wait?
It was slightly open
so I slipped in,
could do no harm
so where’s the sin?
A voice cried out
sounding like thunder,
saying ‘Who are you?’
Oops, what a blunder,
I took to my heels
with a quick glance to the rear
saw a white haired gent
giving chase quite near,
saying  ‘you don’t belong here
You’re not in the book’
I picked up speed
hardly daring to look
As I reached some trees
for handy cover
He seemed to lose me
then knocked me over
a rugby tackle
brought me down
as I lay there winded
he remarked with a frown
’No name, no entry,
didn’t you know?
Unless you’re picked
it’s not time to go’
thank goodness for that
I thought with a smile
I was hoping to live longer,
or … at least for a while.
I suddenly woke up
in my own bed
grass stains on my hand
and a lump on my head……….

LadyP © 2010

18 responses to “A Long Thin Tale…

  1. This is wonderful, Pen. Love the grass stains, knock on the head, and shivers that follow. The picture is great, too. Monica

    Like

  2. sometimes we wish to go
    and some times we wish to stay
    nice poem
    what if the grey haired gent not caught the fleeing soul

    Like

  3. nice poem my dear friend…
    wish you a great time. much love,shiva xxx

    Like

  4. Sounds great hun! 🙂

    I love the end – makes ya think!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs always!

    Prenin.

    Like

  5. Love you, Lady P, I’m glad your name and number wasn’t called yet…

    Like

  6. ,,,you’re not in the book…I’m glad to have you still here with us…

    Like

  7. That was so good Pen, don’t know how you do it but you have such a gift of words, wish I was you, lol… Thanks for sharing, hugs xx

    Like

  8. So you enjoyed a little bit of sleep walking did you? lol I wonder where you will be venturing this night, perhaps somewhere wicked… Be good now Lady Pen and keep adding your wondrously exciting poems here… You’re getting better and better by the day…

    Androgoth XXx

    Like

  9. Hope this dream doesn’t come true, don’t want to lose you dearest, Thanks for sharing your gift with us this morning
    Big Hugs

    Like

  10. We are born explorers, empty vessels, curious and fascinated by the world around us. It is human nature. Sometimes curiosity can certainly get the best of us, including in our dreams! And sometimes our curiosity leads us to places where we have no business being. Close call. 🙂

    Like

  11. I’m sorry…what did you say the grass stains were from 🙂

    I’m very glad that it wasn’t your turn to leave us!

    Garry xox

    Like

  12. You are spooking me Princess with your words as they seem to end up with a twist in the end that encompasses and ties the whole imagery into a complete synopsis of your written words
    Well done Princess
    Ian aka Emu

    Like

  13. Yo LadyP! I loved it! I wish I had the knack that u do! Hope u have a Fab deay 2day, Luv PF XXX

    Like

  14. you weren’t in the book, your time was not now.
    unauthorised entry is not allowed .
    the keeper has caught you, roughly brought you low
    sending you back with a lump , rising proud.
    till your time as come ,the written words flow.
    and your name , through the doorway ,sounds clear and loud

    Like

  15. Wow Pen, that was a close call you shouldn’t go peeking through doors when you’re not invited, now just suppose some malicious person had put your name down ? poor Bess would be without a Mum, . we’ll have to put the lead and collar on you and let her take command.
    Loved the poem though.

    Like

  16. Hi Pen! 🙂

    Yeah the weather is bloody terrible at the moment – I have to go shop later – but that’s the time of year OK…

    I had a good day’s sleep and now I am looking reluctantly at going shopping later…

    Love and squishy hugs!

    Prenin.

    Like

  17. Hi Pen! 🙂
    Oh to win the lottery hey? 🙂
    Can you imagine all the friends I’d have knocking at my door if I won?
    Not to mention my family!!!
    Love and hugs sweety!!!
    Prenin.

    Like

  18. You do it so well, with what appears to be ease. It is not your time for a very long time…this is good. This one does make one think of such things also sends a chill to the live long o meter… Sleep walking is quite an adventure for you, maybe you should not wear a gown….perhaps some flannel camouflage pajamas?

    Like

☞ ...your thoughts in response are very welcome .....☋

