The Turret Stairs….

 

Meeting On The Turret Stairs

If every picture has a story to tell

I wonder, what does this one say?

It speaks to me of a love that’s lost

a tryst that cannot be shown in any way,

It speaks to me of true passion held

of two souls which should be as one

most of all it speaks of a cruel sadness

Of  Lovers fated to be apart, a Love gone.

Maybe the Lady is promised to another,

or Her Knight is to ride for the Crusades,

but their story is captured for ever

in this print, shown to us, ‘twill never fade…..

LadyP © 2010

 

20 responses to “The Turret Stairs….

  1. Slowly turns the screw

    Like

  2. Even before I read your post, I was looking at the artwork and thinking how sad it was for 2 lovers to be separated. To me, it appears that she has had to tell him that it can be no more, and they are both devastated and trying to hold on as they are parting.
    I love all the artwork that you find to illustrate your writing, Pen. You are always such a joy🙂 XOXOXO

    Like

  3. Excellent discription of the ultimate agony, Lady P…

    Like

  4. Love this and the photo is an excellent choice to illustrate.
    xox

    Like

  5. This is wonderful, Pen. Different directions, with regret. I’ve always wanted turreted stairs.

    Like

  6. Beautifully put Pen – true love lost!!!

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

    Like

  7. I love the story you made for us to illustrate what may be happening in the painting. It is the sort of story I would have thought of too. 🙂

    Like

  8. A very nice poem Lady Pen, and one that
    has many thought provoking conclusions…

    Androgoth XXx

    Like

  9. I thought it looked like two lovers grief stricken about something and he’s trying to comfort her. Lots of poets write there poems this way, but I never have. I use a topic and start off that way or just a line I’ve thought of. Enjoyed your poem Lady P
    Hugs Lady J

    Like

  10. It is sad story but it mostly in poems you find the ways though a lots people are attractive to read them.
    I think you have create a beautiful poems which everybody love to read included me.
    Thank you xPenx.

    Like

  11. Hello Pen..Thanks for dropping by and your lovely comments.
    Your space is so lovely the picture paints a thousand words.
    True
    Merry Christmas
    Noelle

    Like

  12. With some pictures, words are not necessary. There’s so much that could be said about this pic.
    Love comes and goes. The saddest thing in life is when you meet that special someone and you know it will never be, and that sooner or later you’ll have to let go.” Hhhmmm. Maybe God wants us to meet a few wrong people before meeting the right one, so that when we finally meet that person, we will know how to be grateful.
    Gosh, how wonderful you write!

    Like

  13. So many scenarios portrayed in that picture , I like to think it is the departing for the crusades and the lady is experiencing the loss of her love in the knowledge he will never return , then again he may have returned from the crusades and has told him she has found another and she turns away as he makes one final effort to hold onto his one true love
    Ian aka Emu

    Like

  14. I see so much Love and feeling,passion, in this painting ,thinking this may be the last caress…… however a great test for the imagination,still pondering….
    Beautiful Poem, (post) Pen
    Thanks for sharing, 🙂
    Peace,
    Laz

    Like

  15. Rocking Santa? You Bought one of those things??? LoL!!!

    Yeah the more we see advances in technology the more people try to find ways to steal!!!

    I have no headache since I slept properly yesterday, but now I have to puch the clock a bit so I can go shopping on Thursday.

    Wednesday I have to go get my meds so I’m not looking forward to that…

    You keep warm too hun – this warm period isn’t going to last…

    Love and squishy hugs!

    Prenin.

    Like

  16. I love what you did with this. 🙂

    Like

  17. This strikes home to me, but my lost love didn’t go to the crusades, he went back to his wife. sob.
    thanks for lovely comments on my blog, I’ve put Bess up for Jenny’s perusal.

    Like

  18. What a lovely picture all things I can imagine from this photo, a love lost a love not to be , see how his two arms hold onto her. Lovely. Thank you for your comments on my blog its lovely to hear from you. Take it easy and Bess on those pavements, and stay warm. Hugs Sheilax

    Like

  19. The one thing that makes art timeless is the ability to relate to it…this is a theme that even today American soldiers relive with their wives on the news and at countless other places. I am sure that other countries have this same tale as well. Perhaps that is why the sadness is so captivating. Have a great day!

    Like

  20. I agree – this picture poses so many questions doesn’t it? …I wonder if she is going to be locked away by her husband and her Knight is telling her, in his kiss, that he will rescue her? Excellent and very enjoyable poem😀 xx

    Like

☞ ...your thoughts in response are very welcome .....☋

