Barriers Unseen….

Break the Brick Wall...

There’s a barrier called silence,
you can’t see it but it’s real
often right in front of you
quite solid and you feel
a sense of desperation
wanting to break through
this barrier of silence
trying it’s best to control you.
Break the Brick Wall...

Some try to hide behind it
trapped, but they can’t tell
as it feeds on lack of interest
on those who would repel
any words of consolation
any beacon shone upon
this barrier of silence,
for then it would be gone.
Break the Brick Wall...

Can’t seem to get around it
Can’t force a way through,
As this barrier of silence,
is put there to stop you.
You try your best to beat it,
You know it must never win.
Be courageous, utter the words
”talk to me, explain, just begin..”

 

LadyP © 2011

34 responses to “Barriers Unseen….

  1. This is so true Pen, silence is one of the hardest things to break through.
    Have a good weekend xx

    Like

  2. Good poem, and nicely designed. Read it three times…was needing that today! And you do realise you’re blog set up rocks don’t you…

    Like

  3. I could sit quietly in the silence or talk to you, discovering all the important things of the moment, the day, or life itself. Your friends surround you and wait to break through the silence.

    Like

    • Thanks for your comment Dan, and yes, some can sit and enjoy silence, or talk if they feel like it, but sometimes once silence takes control it’s so hard for others to reach out and break the barrier wall down, silence can gain control, consume from within and hide what’s caused it in the first place …xx
      Talk....

      Like

  4. Great poem. I rather enjoy silence most of the times. Sometimes though I long to hear a voice and then I pick up the telephone.

    xoxox

    Like

    • Many thanks Beth, glad you enjoyed it, and it’s good to talk… to hear that voice even though you can’t see the person , you’re communicating, something we humans cannot do without… Social animals that we are… xx
      Talk....

      Like

  5. I’m sort of like Beth, believe it or not. Probably why I’m so wordy here😀
    I think I’ll put this near my computer as a reminder to just maybe let someone in😉 Maybe you’re like that, too?
    XOXOXO

    Like

    • Maybe so Jenny, I do find I don’t talk a lot in reality, social words I suppose, ”hello’ ‘ how are you’ type of thing, and at work it’s down to business and get on with it..Not intimate talk kind of thing.., but on here, my fingers do the talking on the keyboard, and my mind just takes off and … there’s no stopping me.!! 😉 . so yes, as with you, me too… xx
      Talk....

      Like

  6. There are very quiet people out there who never like to chit chat. I can be a bit of both… They say I’m quiet to life with but every now and again I can talk my head off, just depends really. I do dislike passive aggressive types who withhold there speech from you and you get given the cold shoulder and all forms of communication is taken away. Deep anger is behind there silent time out sessions.

    Have a great day Lady P

    Like

    • You are describing me too, Lady Jude, quiet times and social times, and intimate times, depends on what’s happened during the day and how tired I am…But I agree that when silence is used against you, it’s like a weapon with no way of getting through…. it’s maddening.. xx
      Talk....

      Like

  7. golden be the silence of unspoken words

    Like

    • Silence can be golden John, there are times when utter silence is a joy, but then the opposite happens, maybe you want to find a reason for an action, and you hit a brick wall of silence..Worrying and maddening at the same time…x
      Talk....

      Like

  8. Nicely worded Pen,

    The risk in “just talking” is the pain of listening to one’ echo as it erases bits of confidence upon each pass.

    Like

    • many thanks for your comment, Earl, for me silence erodes at truth, and gives the imagination free reign and all sorts of misunderstandings can occur…AS humans we try to fill in the blanks, and more than likely jump to the wrong conclusions…all this when only a few simple words can explain or heal a rift… x
      Talk....

      Like

  9. Lovely piece Pen – as someone surrounded by the silence I can certainly appreciate it!🙂

    God Bless sweetheart!

    Prenin.

    Like

    • glad you enjoyed the poem, Sir Prenin, I know silence is supposed to be gold coloured, but sometimes it’s created of brick and I get tired of hurting my hands knocking, trying to gain access…..x
      Talk....

      Like

  10. Hi Pen!🙂

    Yep: Wet and windy – baby weather! LoL!!!

    The whole country seems to be copping it today – Scotland the worst of it methinks?

    Here the wind has dropped, but it’s still raining steadily.

    Sorry you’re not sleeping – Bess will disturb you, there’s no doubt.

    When I was a kid our rescue dog Lady used to sneak into the bedroom and get between me and the wall – then push me out of bed!!! LoL!!!

    Dad used to batter her at every excuse – as he did us – and eventually took her to the Vet to be put down, then gave mum the bill, an especial degree of evil as you may have gathered.

    I can’t relate to animals as pets any more, but I am happy to look after them for friends on a temporary basis!🙂

    I doubt if Horlicks will help her – milk is bad for dogs – but it should help you relax as there’s no caffeine involved.

    Silence is only golden when it’s a break from a chaotic life – mine is very quiet now after 40 years of misery so I appreciate it very much!🙂

    No win this week – I guess I have to try again!🙂

    Love and squishy hugs!

    Prenin.

    Like

    • me neither, with the lottery numbers Sir Prenin, … the dream continues,
      and of course , no Horlicks for Bess, she’d rather have just plain water, but she has this look on her face sometimes, as if I’m eating ambrosia and she’s missing out!! … take care my friend…x
      Talk....

      Like

  11. Sometimes you can have just too much silence, and by choice is good, but when there is not choice, it is such a lonely thing.
    Lovely way with words as usual Pen, Hugs to you and Her Maj, hope you ar both well XX

    Like

    • I agree Arlene, if the choice is yours, silence is good, it’s healing, it’s quiet time, but the silence in the poem is the thundering silence, when you’ve asked a question, or queried someones motive and then the silence used is deafening in it’s power…
      Bess is acting like there’s nothing wrong, trying to climb the stairs on her own, and scaring me silly, I may have to put a child’s gate on the bottom now…the look on her face when she succeeds and lays at the top and looks down at me is classic…I must take a photo sometime… Hope you and Tango and Ruby are fine and dandy, I’ll call round soon…just off out with Her Maj…xx
      Talk....

      Like

  12. Makes me want to cry … don’t know why … cat.

    Like

  13. Ah silence, that deadly silence, how to over come it? Love the ending, how you can just ask it to explain. Beautiful poem, with very deep thoughts put into it. Great piece!

    Like

    • thank you dp, I appreciate your comment and compliment. Silence as a weapon is something I’ve come across and have a handy sledge hammer to use on the wall created…sledge hammer as in a ‘quiet word’ is all that’s needed… x
      Talk....

      Like

  14. Silence to be dangerously sign watch out with young children (four years)
    My granddaughter has her hiar cut a fringe for right of top and after that I had phone calls from my daughter in law …I never forgot for rest of mylife.
    I don’t like silence and yet it is silence in here…only I can heard click the key from computer…..I go to bed xPenx ………….

    Like

    • I agree, Michiko San,. it can mean danger, and enmity, trouble is you fill in the blanks yourself which can be just as bad…and yes, I can hear the clicking of the keyboard, soon to be stopped as I sign off for the day…It’s midday here In Britain… Sleep well my friend, sweet dreams…and may you never meet such silence again…xx
      Talk....

      Like

  15. I was reading this on my phone while I was at the hair salon getting my locks chopped off and wanted to reply but the internet was too slow so it didn’t work. Anyways, I just wanted to say that your poem came at the right time for me and I was so surprised when I read it. Friday was a massively horrid day for me and reading this poem about this barrier of silence the next day just really hit me–I didn’t let it win this time and I’m so glad for it! Your poems always speak such truth for me Pen. Thank you🙂

    Like

    • I am so glad, Andini, that you fought against the barrier and won. It takes courage and I feel you have that in abundance…I have tears in my eyes, that you had to face something so cruel alone, but then I suppose we all have to face life’s barriers and find our own strengths. Thank you for your wonderful comment, my friend. it means a lot …xx
      Talk....

      Like

  16. In life there is no room for barriers,
    therefore the Quest is to hinder these
    that bring a silent edge…

    Androgoth XXx

    Like

    • I agree Andro, no room at all, but they exist, put there by people who hide their motives behind a smokescreen of silence…I quest daily, to break the barriers….(maybe I talk too much?) x
      Talk....

      Like

  17. Ahh the world of silence , how well I know it , all is shut down and then I build a brick wall , a wall to hide behind and close down my emotions , a dangerous world where everyone is locked out and I sink into a mire of self pity , your words bring memories of a world I once inhabited and prone to seek in times of uncertainty .
    Thank you for your open interpretation on silence
    Ian aka Emu

    Like

    • Thank you for sharing , Ian, and I must admit that I can sometimes be guilty of hiding behind a wall of my own making, and have also had an almost seeming concrete wall used against me…fighting to get in and being turned away, not understanding , and asking why? It seems it’s just too difficult sometimes to utter the first word, to break the silence and just speak and be understood.. xx
      Talk....

      Like

☞ ...your thoughts in response are very welcome .....☋

