A Distant Memory…

fading 1

 Overcome by sadness

no reasoning why.

Tears start falling,

what make you cry?

fading 1 

Deep down inside

a switch off then on.

Sadness and tears melted,

are both now gone?

fading 1

Dark thoughts took hold

without knowing why.

Fading, a distant memory

you smile,  yet still sigh?….

fading 1

LadyP © 2011

 

42 responses to “A Distant Memory…

  1. You ask what makes you cry? Answer, poems like these.

    Like

    • Many thanks for your comment Earl. Today is my Mums Birthday, she died 2004, so this poem seemed a tribute. I’m crying and yet I know why, it’s just that she’s well and truly missed. xx

      fading 1

      Like

  2. I know that feeling so well Pen, it comes and goes just as you describe yet it’s so hard to pinpoint why it came and where it went.

    Like

    • I too know this feeling well, Trevor, so that I could describe it many different ways… Today I know it’s reason, but tomorrow …as you say who knows?…
      Many thanks for your comment, my friend… always appreciated xx

      fading 1

      Like

  3. I know how u feel LAdy P
    these feelings stay with u for ever

    Like

    • My thanks , MJ, for your lovely comment, and yes, the feelings are always there, deep down, never really fading away, I suppose they grow to become a part of you and make you who you are… ((hugs)) to you my friend…xx

      fading 1

      Like

  4. Dear Pen, I know your loss and feel your pain, I’ve lost my mum along time ago now but we also lost our son coming up to 3 years ago. I also felt the need to write something on his birthday a couple of weeks ago, never knowing if its the right thing to do on here or not but it is a good release of feelings and something we feel we should do. Love your poem, it reflects the pain within that never really leaves us, we just push it below the surfice… Hugs to you on this day, Love, Summer xxx

    Like

    • Thank you for sharing your grief too, Summer, and I didn’t really want to do a dedication, it just seemed to happen naturally, as if this poem was meant for this day..24th.., I cannot imagine the loss of a child, it must be the most heartbreaking pain to go through and live with …Sincere condolences my friend,…xx

      fading 1

      Like

  5. Well said Pen. I feel exactly the same way so much of the time, then I give myself a good talking to and cheer up.

    Hugs!!
    Beth

    Like

  6. If I’m a gargoyle frozen in place,
    No love for me, no run to race,
    If I’ve lost a loved one or a friend,
    Time spins slowly without an end,
    If a lover with magic casts a spell,
    Will I recover? Only time will tell,
    What if life continues to pass me by,
    All these are reasons I would cry.

    Like

    • Many thanks Dan, for your rhyme…and you’re so right, only time will tell…
      We live our life taking the knocks and finding our way forward. If now and again a few tears fall, who are they for ? the one now lost or we left behind? …

      fading 1

      Like

  7. Lovely but very sad poem… Hope you are happy my sweet

    Like

  8. A very beautiful poem, Pen – both tribute and something else as well. From what you have said about your mother, she must have been quite special. It’s good to be missed. I remember my first birthday after my mom died — I kept expecting a phone call! Ouch – it hurt not to get one. Like you said – hugs across cyberspace!!

    Like

    • I can still imagine my mums voice, Monica, ringing from Ireland, she used to put a slight slant on the ‘hello’ that was all her own … and I think everyone’s mum is special to them, ((hugs)) to you my friend…Glad you enjoyed the tribute poem ..xx

      fading 1

      Like

  9. Oh how often does one feel like this, sometimes with good reason, sometimes you just feel … what is it the French call it… Trieste. melancholy, yearning, all sorts of words, but then you shake it off and put it away till next time, Some music can trigger me off. Lovely Pen

    Like

    • I know Arlene, the many sided coin of emotions, seemingly you can’t seem to ‘feel’ the join as you sway from the varying degrees of sadness to happiness. I sometimes find myself with tears in my eyes, just from someone saying ‘hello’ so maybe my sensitivity gauge is set too high? 😉 .. Thanks you so much for your lovely comment…xx

      fading 1

      Like

  10. ive never stopped looking for my mum pen she passed and now i try to find her through mediums and the afterlife but now i am not so manic about it we get older and have to deal with these sad times in our lives but i do know how you feel like ive been told lots of times shes with you everyday in your heart xxhugs jen

    Like

    • MY thanks Jen, and yes, we hold the ones we love in our hearts forever, and day by day the pain of loss must ease, but it never really goes away…I had thought I was over the crying stage, until I posted this poem, thought of her Birthday … then I wept like a small child. Many thanks for sharing your way of coping my friend. ((hugs)) xx

      fading 1

      Like

  11. It’s goood to talk about it to each other like this.It’s painful, too … no matter how many years passed. My daughter would be 25 now, but it feels like she only passed a few weeks ago. I wanted to be with her so bad, but am still here … many tears since then … many good conversations with people, too. Love, c.

    Like

    • Oh shush up!! You’re not old enough to have a daughter who’d be 25??? And, I am sorry for your loss. *Big Sigh*

      Like

    • I’m glad you’re able to talk about your daughter, cat, as I do about my mum, sometimes I think the pain eases when shared…as you so rightly say…many, many tears are shed for the person gone, but so long as they remain in your memory they live on…((hugs)) my friend…xx

      fading 1

      Like

  12. Have you ever cried for no reason, then once it was over you felt so much better… but still wondered, what was that all about? (yeah, don’t even think of asking me this question😦 cause I’m not into lying to friends.
    Well, they say that tears are the safety valve of the heart when too much pressure is laid on it. I believe this to be true. They heal us as they flow.

    Like

    • Many thanks Seth, for your comment…A safety valve, sounds the nearest thing to an explanation to unknown reasons for a crying jag … heal as they flow, is also a good description… because that is definitely how you feel afterwards … Tired, emotional but calmer…xx

      fading 1

      Like

  13. Hi Pen.

    Condolences on your mums passing – I know how it feels as I lost my grandparents about ten years back and I still remember the good times.

    Thanks for the visit as always!🙂

    Yeah I have a BIG heart and it has served me well, but not without cost.

    I had eight keys to my place so my friends could use my computer when I was at work etc. so I have no idea who dunnit, although I suspect it was my neighbour Mrs. Stevenson who was a retired teacher.

    I did ask, but she denied all knowledge!!!🙂

    I agree about what’s going on in the news: Gaddafi Duck trying to slaughter his countries population and the quake in New Zealand are fighting for first place in the news as I write.

    With all the cuts in military spending we are unable to do much to help rescue our people from Libya and if any die then this Government will have blood on its hands from sheer ineptitude and neglect.

    Now the people of Libya are banding together to rid themselves of a brutal dictator I am praying that the battle will be over quickly…

    As long as we support one another and care for one another things can only get better!🙂

    Love and hugs sweety!!!

    Prenin.

    Like

    • MY thanks to you, Sir Prenin, for your lovely words,. and yes I think we have been touched by death and it aftermath in some way or another …
      Pass on smiles, help and support and as you say, this should surely make for a better way of life… Take care you… xx

      fading 1

      Like

  14. Ya got ME, Prenin. All I know is that there are 7 Keys to Baldpate.
    By the way, if you need cheering up I know nothing better than listening to Jack Benny, Mary Livingstone, and Cecil B. deMille in the Lux Radio Theatre version of this: http://www.archive.org/download/Lux03/Lux_38-09-26_Seven_Keys_to_Baldplate.mp3
    ******************************************************************
    But as for what makes me cry…all sorts of things do. Moments of sheer beauty do (anyone remember “Riverdance”? Or Dvorak’s “New World Symphony?”). The loss of loved ones. All my relatives have died in the past 19 years or so. The last one was my father in 2002.
    Yes, I get out old family pictures occasionally and get all sentimental and tearful over days that were and can never be again.
    Then—
    Then I find ways to laugh again
    http://www.cbs.com/late_night/late_late_show/video/?pid=HLXFs1kQ_nx7H3fLGehrKDbCG___oSTI&nrd=1

    Join me

    Like

    • many thanks for your comment, Cassie, and thanks for the links you’ve provided, I’ll be taking a tour soon.., sadness has now passed but then that’s the way of emotions, they fade but return when you least expect them … xx

      fading 1

      Like

  15. Yes Pen that such a feeling creep up on you now and again, sometimes you don’t know why. O r a flashing memory stirs inside. Lovely words xxSheila

    Like

    • thank you, Sheila, glad you enjoyed the poem, and such is the way with emotions, sometimes the root cause doesn’t always make itself known, but it’s there…and the tears fall…but soon they dry and we wonder at ourselves…xx

      fading 1

      Like

  16. I like this, Pen. Not sad but something we all feel. I read a book, once, that referred to the act of crying as washing our windows so we can see more clearly that distant memory. Beautiful poem, Pen.

    Like

    • I like that, Leslie, such a lovely description of tears and their healing properties, just like a misty window on a cold morning. Pleased you enjoyed the tribute poem, and many thanks for your comment and compliment… much appreciated..xx

      fading 1

      Like

  17. A very nice offering here Lady Pen,
    Sorry it’s taken me an age to get back
    onto your Space I’ve been really busy
    of late and am behind with everyone’s
    blogs, this one is excellently written
    and adds depth to those sad feelings,
    I guess throughout a lifetime, we all
    have these episodes where tears flow
    and I must agree with Seth, it is indeed
    a safety valve, which helps I think?
    Be good now Lady Pen and thank you
    for adding yet another wicked piece of
    your writing genius…

    Androgoth XXx

    Like

    • no apologies necessary, Andro, and many thanks for your lovely and lively comments… and yes, I agree with you and Seth, an emotional valve seems the best way to describe tears and their ability to heal our inner selves and let out the pain in a beneficial way… take care my friend..xx

      fading 1

      Like

  18. What a lovely poem and attractive site. I’ll come back if I may

    Like

  19. lovely Pen, sad and lovely.

    Like

    • hi there bex, yes, sad, but emotions change tack, like a sailing ship on a windy blusterous day, one minute sadness at a memory, the next just happy that the memory is still there, safe and sound… xx

      fading 1

      Like

  20. Oh , this I know all too well. It seems as of late this feeling has been trying to hunt and bring me down every chance it gets and I’m sad to say that it’s succeeding all too easily. The last words: ‘dark thoughts took hold without knowing why. Fading, a distant memory you smile yet still sigh?’ perfectly describes how these emotions overwhelm you and then leave you just as quickly so all that you are left with is the memories to look back on and smile about, while sighing and wishing for those days back again. I’m sorry I haven’t come around to your site much these days, I keep remembering and forgetting (darn work for being so busy!) but as always, a beautiful poem Pen🙂

    Like

    • HI there Andini, first of all no Probs about not visiting more, and I do understand, there’s so much to do and not enough time to do it all!! 🙂
      Glad you enjoyed the poem, and yes, as you say, sometimes our emotions rule us, and we (from my perspective) hardly understand what started a crying bout, maybe spirits are low, or some stray thought reminds us of a sad memory or it’s just we’re ever so slightly overwhelmed by what the world threw at us that day. Whatever the reason, crying helps … as both Seth and Andro have said, like a safety valve…I think we’re the only primate which has the ability to produce tears as an emotional response… and I think we use it well… or does it use us?… sometimes I find myself in tears before I know it…like a super quick response to the poverty, sickness and inhumane acts reported on the screen…So much to cry for but also hopefully creates a will to respond and do something about it../and…this reply is going off tangent, thanks for your great comment my friend…and bye for now….xx

      fading 1

      Like

☞ ...your thoughts in response are very welcome .....☋

