Fingers of Nightmare….

 

Photobucket

She was dragged roughly and
viciously into her sleepy dream
fighting and clawing at what
lingered between,
the fingers
of nightmare
holding on
then held fast,
battling for her life
as the attacker cast
a net so soft
about her form
but once it touched
nightmare became norm
settling her fears
to quieten her down
tho’ she cried in her sleep,
face clothed by a frown…
… Suddenly dragged so roughly
from her dream filled sleep,
the alarm was insistent
she needed
to keep,
a routine
of waking 
herself every day,
to flee the nightmare
which held her captive in it’s sway…
 

 LadyP © 2011

42 responses to “Fingers of Nightmare….

  1. Hmmm… As somebody who has a degree in bad dreams, this one sounds pretty bad!!!

    Good job you have the alarm to wake you!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs!!!

    Prenin.

    Like

    • Hm, I do have nightmares but this poem went it’s own way, Sir Prenin, darker than I meant to go, but that’s the way of dreams, unless you can control them of course, and I’ve not learnt that art yet!! 😀 …
      Photobucket

      Like

      • I learned the art of dream guidance a long time ago – God knows I had the practice – but the key is to remember it’s just a dream and you have a nice sharp knife/gun/club in your hand to dish out some wanton mayhem if the bad guy doesn’t back off!!! 🙂

        I’ve lost count of the number of dreams I had where I beat the crap out of my dad!!! 🙂

        Love and hugs!

        Prenin.

        Like

        • Ah Sir Prenin, what about a missile launcher? now that should get rid of anything ghoulish (nearly typed goulash!!) that’s threatening in ones dreams/nightmares/day dreams/or whatever. Now how do you ‘launch’ oh yes…Press ‘fire’ 🙂 xx
          Photobucket

          Like

          • If you EVER get the chance to own a PS3, then the best game I have ever played has to be ‘Fallout 3’ – you get to create all kinds of mayhem and that includes a rocket launcher!!! 🙂

            Have fun sweety!!!

            Prenin.

            Like

  2. Sounds like the kind of dreams I have been having lately. 😉
    xoxo

    Like

  3. In those moments you can’t stay awake,
    Your nightmare comes calling, a new remake,
    Not your friend to whisper good night, sweet dreams,
    Just a fiend to giggle and laugh at your screams,
    In the daylight when all seems to be well,
    The fiend is trying to keep you under his spell,
    So think of friends you’d be happy to see,
    And those far away, such as ones like me,
    For I’ve been in darkness a time or two,
    And all that waits in dreams for you,
    Will be asked to leave politely and sent far away,
    And your nightmares forever will be kept at bay.
    Sweet dreams!

    Like

    • Sweet dreams are a sure bet Dan, with a wonderful rhyming scenario such as that to sweep away any fears…Many thanks for your lovely comment, so very much appreciated…xx
      Photobucket

      Like

  4. What Beth Marie said….. xx

    Like

  5. I love dreams how crazy or wierd they are
    otherwise u lay in ur bed without some excitment lol
    Crazy me Lady P
    i hate the alarmclock sound.. and now i go and watch the football ..

    Like

    • The dreamlike state is so unpredictable, Sweeti, so many twists and turns which occur, yet you the dreamer accept as totally natural…and yes excitement bed-wise is to be wished for, I totally agree :-D…
      (Football is sore point at the moment, my friend, Manchester United lost 3-1 to Liverpool this afternoon, and I still haven’t totally recovered from the shock and horror…. a nightmare scenario in itself! 😉 ) xx
      Photobucket

      Like

      • Hey you two is this a private conversation,
        I do hope that you both realise that it is well
        before the watershed… lol Hey just kidding…

        Androgoth XXx

        Like

  6. I enjoyed this, Pen, even though it was on the dark side. I like anything to do with dreams. Now, alarms on the other hand – they are a different story…

    Like

    • oh yes Sir Aquatom, I feel very dark today, I had to avenge the beating of Man U somehow…and a dark and soulful poem fitted the bill nicely… and alarm clocks? Whoever invented them came from the twisted tormented depths of …um…Hades itself!! …. or is that going too far, maybe? xx
      Photobucket

      Like

  7. Never forget, nightmares of any kind will end at some point (I’ll not elaborate on this topic, as it would turn into a book …) Purrrs and wooofs, my friend.

    Like

    • My thanks cat, I think my dreams and nightmares are really, really strange sometimes, last night I dreamt of Bernard Manning,(a terrible foul mouthed English comedian, who’s now deceased I think) posing for a nude shot for a magazine, he was a very fat man, and in my dream he was covered in rhino skin? Now what does that say for my mind and imagination? Best not say anything I think!! .,… and I’m so, so glad to wake up of a morning.! except when I dream of JD of course!! 😀 hugs and woofs and purrs my friend…xx
      Photobucket

      Like

  8. I hope you have better dreams than this Pen!

    A dark and foreboding poem indeed but as always well written.

    Like

  9. Nightmares are nice when it ends n you realize its only a dream… Though i would still feel disturbed after i wake up… ( after effects) 😉 … But sweet dreams on the other hand have a reverse effect… I wake up n i would be like ” Damn its only a dream, now lets face reality”… 🙂 Normally its only our deepest fears n cravings that are projected in your dreams… You face your fears in your dreams n you get whatever you wished for also… Thats why its a dream…:) Wish we could make some of it come real… Loved the poem… Take care Pen…

    Like

    • After shocks I think , Mystique, and I love sweet dreams, tho’ as you say, they tend to leave you wanting to dive back into the storyline and continue where you left off… 😉 Oh yes indeedy!! … especially if ’twas JD…(Johnny Depp) Sigh!!…
      Photobucket
      Couldn’t resist the lure of his face!! …Maybe wishes might come true? 😀
      Many thanks for your lovely comment my friend…xx
      Photobucket

      Like

  10. Yes Lady Pen it appears that you have a case of
    the Zombietrons, it is a rare diagnosis connected
    with some late night naughtiness, of the wicked kind…

    The solution is to have fifteen consecutive nights
    of pure, no holds barred wickedness… Of course
    whatever that Wickedness means to you, is the
    ultimate cure… lol

    Yes I think that I got myself out of that one rather
    well don’t you think Lady Pen? have fun now lol

    Like

    • Zombietrons? Andro, do you really think so? and fifteen nights of..? Really and truly? Oh well, if needs must….I…um…must for the sake of my sanity!! 😉
      The previous answer I gave to Mystique’s comment might give you a clue as to where my choice of wickedness may lie!! Sigh!! Oh, what a terrible, terrible solution !! Fun? Oh yes…!! Many thanks for your enlightening comment my Gothic friend…xx
      Photobucket

      Like

  11. I was so busy making sure I hadn’t said
    anything naughty that I forgot to add this…

    Androgoth XXx

    Like

    • I certainly know the feeling, Andro, double checking and proof writing has become second nature for me on WordPress, as once ‘Post comment’ is clicked there’s no going back, unlike WLS where you could safely delete your .. um..errors.!! 😀 .. mind you… still not Pen proof, as many a comment on here will testify!! for shame Pen!! xx
      Photobucket

      Like

  12. Hi Pen! 🙂

    Just got your comment!!!

    Yes, I know about the Vicks vapour rub and socks on feet – The BIGGEST problem is laying your hands on a pot of the good stuff!!!

    I managed a FAIR night’s sleep, but still woke up before the 5am alarm…

    Love and squishy hugs!

    Prenin.

    Like

  13. Wow, Pen, nightmare as norm, and the welcome sound of the alarm! I love the image of the net settling over you, quieting your resistance. Chilling!

    Like

  14. Reminds me a little of my own recurrent nightmare which, thankfully, hasn’t been around to visit me lately.

    I’ll be sure to set the alarm. Just in case… 😉

    Like

    • Oh Yes, always set the alarm, Robin, you never know when you’ll need rescuing… I do have a recurring nightmare, but just like you, it’s been absent …Hopefully I haven’t resurrected it now!! many thanks for your comment my friend… xx
      Photobucket

      Like

  15. Oh super, first of all it’s shape, but it’s an excellent poem! I’m dragged all over the place, through dark alleys in nightmares, and then the alarm clock.

    so enjoyable I read it twice!

    Like

    • I keep trying out ‘shapes’ Kolembo, and you’re the first to mention it…I thought it might add to the whole experience…and at least the alarm clock beings you back to safety, don’t you think? 😉 … Many thanks for your response to the whole experience…xx
      Photobucket

      Like

  16. Dreams my dreams are so vived in every detail, and funny enough I can remember most of the time.Thank goodness no such dream as this nightmare. Vey Good Pen xSheila and Wile-e , and dear Bess and yourself a Tuesday Hug. X

    Like

    • Many thanks for your comment Sheila, and I’m truly glad you don’t get nightmares such as this one… and me too, on remembering most of mine…
      Hugs to you and Wile-e from her Maj and me…xx
      Photobucket

      Like

  17. Ooh I had a feeling that maybe reading this poem before going to bed would be a bad idea! Guess I knew that it would be too much of a reminder of what used to happen to me in sleep! Haha but it’s still a great poem Pen! 😉

    Like

    • ’twas an idea I got from a particularly bad night, Andini, and it grew from there, and very true, not conducive to a sweet nights sleep!! 😉 My thanks for your comment my friend, very much appreciated..xx
      Photobucket

      Like

  18. I missed this creepy one earlier dear Mistress of the Mysterious Worlds. Thankfully I don’t have nightmares like you’ve portrayed, sometimes just disturbing dreams like one last night, where we [my girls and I] were caught up in a very high tide, but not often or I’d be afraid to go to sleep. Poor girl, hope she gets over it. Keep Bess close at bedtime and you’ll be OK Pen, give her an extra hug from me.

    Like

    • I’m sure she does…Poor girl indeed, I don’t have many nightmares just the main one where I’m running but not getting anywhere, and trying to scream and still not uttering a sound…’tis amazing I want to sleep at night sometimes …xx Hugs passed on as sent …and hugs back too..from her Maj and me, to Tango, Ruby and, of course, you..!! xx
      Photobucket

      Like

☞ ...your thoughts in response are very welcome .....☋

