Itching…

Paw Print

“If you scratch my back
  I’ll scratch yours… ”
‘kind’ offer declined
as the mouse    
stared at
          the cats  
                   sharp
                                 claws
                                                  …
                                                       

 

              LadyP © 2011

40 responses to “Itching…

  1. Wolf in sheep’s clothing, ay? Excellent little ditty here.

    http://timkeen40.wordpress.com

    Like

  2. Kind offer bespeaks wisdom beyond the years,
    Let not trusting heart be fooled by crocodile tears,
    Or charming smile cover deceitful lies,
    Be cautious, my lady, when a “gentleman” tries,
    To win you over with “I’ll scratch your back,”
    Beware of his motives, if his mind has one track,
    Now with that warning, and all is said and done,
    “Can I scratch your back? Won’t that be fun?”
    Yes, dear lady, there might be someone like the cat,
    Who will challenge your mind, your heart and all that!

    Your poem has wisdom, humour, caution, fears, being tricked, — I see you stepped away from risk , love, and vulnerability on this one. Nice change of pace.

    Like

    • Thank you Dan, I really enjoyed your rhyming comment, who will challenge indeed … I thought I’d try a slight change and concentrate on the poor little mouse’s reasoning… Glad you liked the style of this one…xx
      Puddy Tat

      Like

  3. Hi Pen! 🙂

    Yes the situation in Japan is dreadful, a Leader in Industrial Might reduced to a third world country.

    I haven’t checked out the news yet, but with so much infrastructure destroyed it’s going to take time to recover.

    Meanwhile the poor are starving and the desperate are sleeping wherever they can find shelter.

    Even the Playstation is being used to beg money for the relief effort!!!

    If they get the pumps running at Fukushima Daiichi then they will be in with a chance, but it’ll be Sunday before they have it done and in the meantime they are using increasingly desperate measures to cool the reactors and fuel storage ponds!!!

    Please God let it end well.

    Amen.

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

    Like

    • For the sake of all concerned, Sir Prenin, I hope this last ditch effort works and yes I join you in echoing your words.., Please God, let it end well … For any other outcome is just unthinkable..xx

      Like

  4. hmm i think il give the scratching a miss lol and get a shower instead maybe its il dry yours if you dry mine have fun pen xxjen

    Like

    • Thanks Jen, I agree with you, scratching is not good, (especially if you’re a mouse on the receiving end from a large cat… 😉 ) …. Have a great week-end my friend…xx
      Puddy Tat

      Like

  5. Indeed,a smart Mouse, Ha!
    Thank you, xPenx
    Peace,
    Laz

    Like

  6. I hope for the mouse that the cat had her whiskas lol
    succes with the guys from Manu

    Like

  7. Now that is what I call a very smart mouse.
    At the movies today I saw the trailer for a new Pirates movie coming soon that your heart throb is starring in. It looked like it would be a good one.
    xoxo

    Like

    • Beth, you’ve made my heart skip a beat….I knew Pirates 4 was in production but wasn’t aware it was anywhere near a showing…(Bumpety bump.. that’s my heart!! Sigh!!) 😀 … glad you enjoyed the poem and the little smart mouse… xx
      Puddy Tat

      Like

  8. … do I look like I would hurt little “meowsi” … hmmm? Purrs and Wooofs, c.

    Like

    • OF course you wouldn’t cat, and I’m sure this Cat in question was just trying to be friendly to the teeny mouse … and helpful too no doubt 😉 … Purrs and woofs from her Maj..xx
      Puddy Tat

      Like

  9. That mouse ain’t daft. even T&R agree to that. and send greetings to Her Maj

    Like

  10. I tell you mice are pretty sharp creatures, they aren’t stupid… I’ve got a clever one that lives in the roof of my house… I’ve tried everything to get rid of it, but still it escapes everything… I have to make it a pet yet.

    Like

    • Awww, maybe so Lady Jude, maybe it’s hoping you will? … and maybe it’s adopted you already … Many thanks for your comment my friend, and I hope all’s well on the teaching front…xx
      Puddy Tat

      Like

  11. hahahaha!

    excellent, just excellent!

    Like

  12. LOL very wise 🙂
    have a lovely spring day pen, hope the sun is shining again today 🙂

    Like

    • My thanks for your comment and visit, Summer, and yes, a wise mouse indeed … The Suns trying to peek through the clouds here .. I do hope it succeeds, and a lovely Sunday to you my friend…xx
      Puddy Tat

      Like

  13. Haha good laugh this was! Smart cat to suggest it, but even smarter mouse to decline it 😛

    Like

  14. Ha! Very clever.

    And if that cat’s claws are as sharp as my Bella’s razor-sharp claws, the mouse did well to decline.

    Like

  15. I like it… It is short and sweet this one
    Lady Pen… And Ouch, Yes, those claws
    can be extremely sharp… lol

    Androgoth XXx

    Like

  16. Love this one, Pen.

    Like

  17. ha, ha – very clever, Pen

    Like

  18. Nice contrast, here, Pen, and I love that kitty avatar!

    Like

    • pleased you enjoyed the change, Leslie, and I search Photobucket for ages trying to find photo’s, gifs, animations, in fact anything which would fill my need and finish a theme … xx
      Puddy Tat

      Like

  19. What a unique perception! I initially thought of a mutual agreement until the change of perception (an the detail of claws) at the end. You have such an imagination that it really is quite limitless what you can do with the simplest of subjects. Brilliant!

    Like

    • Many thanks for the comment and the lovely compliment, Stuart, It would only work within the shape, otherwise the ‘flow’ wasn’t quite right.., and I wonder sometimes, about my mind I mean.. 😉 xx
      Puddy Tat

      Like

  20. Mouse is not adventurous, he should experiment to learn , hehehe
    Ian

    Like

☞ ...your thoughts in response are very welcome .....☋

