Life Sentence?….

anidragon

I sat, eyes closed sighing wearily,
running an index finger down my brow,
Wishing the whole boring meeting over
Wishing I was anywhere else right now.
As the low hum of voices grew fainter
and my senses seemed suddenly to sway
I shook my head side to side to clear it
as a man’s voice boomed out to say
pipe smoke
“Accused, do you have any last words
before your sentence is duly declared?”
causing my shocked eyes to fly wide open
staring at a Court Judge, nostrils flared.
On his bewigged head sat a black square,
eyeing me his intent seemed very clear
he was announcing my death sentence
I was guilty of a serious crime I fear.
pipe smoke
In the dock I stood, legs trembling,
whilst staring about and feeling quite ill
thinking surely I must have time travelled
for the response of my death seemed to thrill.
The full court was readying for the next case
ignoring me as I stood totally struck dumb
by seeing the Judge, his hand to his mouth
begin to suck noisily on his left thumb.
pipe smoke
Suddenly,  a *cough * right behind me
and quickly I swung my head about
as
there ‘he’ stood as large as life itself
Fyrespike choking on his red pipe spout.
I felt thankful tears suddenly gather,
mixed with sheer relief I hasten to say
and then Fyrespike said the words to me
I’ll always recall ‘til my last living day.
pipe smoke
“Be ever careful what you wish for,
Lady Pen, please take heed of me
there are more things in this life
that are dangerous, you see?”
As I nodded he continued
waving his pipe here and there
“Just accept your lot in this life
be thankful your world is so fair.
In the past every life was held cheaply
their terrible lives were so full of woe.
Now, if you’ve finally learned your lesson
I think it’s well past time for us to go”
pipe smoke
There was a flash and a second of silence
then suddenly voices were murmuring around
I was back in my financial company meeting
headache gone, I was here, safe and sound.

LadyP © 2011

50 responses to “Life Sentence?….

  1. I am so glad you were rescued, Lady Pen. 🙂

    And the lesson seems a very valuable one to come away with, worth the scare perhaps.

    Like

    • Oh yes, Robin, very worth the scare, I will never again wish I was elsewhere, (until the next time that is)🙂 Pleased you enjoyed the read and my rescue of course, many thanks for your comment, take care xx
      pipe smoke

      Like

  2. HA! been there in similar circumstance. It’s amazing how perception can alter mood and attitude!(meetings are still boring though)
    May you have a great day in spite of all who may impede it.

    Like

    • I will Stuart, I will, for now on I am a changed woman… 😀 , or not as the case may be … almost losing ones head is a salutary lesson I can assure you…and meetings should carry a health risk don’t you think?
      Wishing you a great rest of the week, my friend. xx
      pipe smoke

      Like

  3. Oh yes this takes me back to the days when at work I would gaze out of the window, and wished to be somewhere else. I think we all at times daydream and wished for different things in our life Pen. I love this follow up that dragon is sure a wise old guy. Hugs To you and Bess xx Sheila and Wile-e x

    Like

    • Fyrespike is so wise, (and big-headed) ‘cos he knows all!! 😉
      I’m pleased you enjoyed my whimsical tale Sheila., I enjoyed writing it too, and sharing it with you… Hugs from Bess and me to you and Wile-e xx
      pipe smoke

      Like

  4. Ah, the old work meetings – where you wish you could be ‘almost’ anywhere but there…apart from in a court awaiting a potential death sentence! lol

    A great story poem. Your writing rocks! 😀 xx

    Like

    • I’ve often wondered whether or not to call them ballads, Chloe? I have a storyish style most of time… and a death sentence is surely something to be wary of, so that meeting didn’t seem so bad afterwards 😉 Glad you enjoyed the read….xx
      pipe smoke

      Like

☞ ...your thoughts in response are very welcome .....☋

