Playtime….

12-05-11_195359

There’s a presence missing,
a loving sound gone too
brightness has dimmed
sudden smiles are few
realisation dawns
with each passing day
my friend and companion
you’ve left me alone to play. 

LadyP ©2011

69 responses to “Playtime….

  1. Hello!
    Flowers will not bloom without the warmth of the Sun .People cannot become people without warmth of a friendship.
    Have a beautiful and successful weekend!
    http://marciento.wordpress.com/2011/05/11/tulips-tulipany/

    Like

  2. Such a lovely post to honor your beautiful Bess. Pen, I seem to cry when you cry and laugh when you laugh, so please hang in there.

    Like

    • My sincere thanks Monica, for your support, and I will try not to cry to often as I don’t want to make you feel sad, we shall laugh together at life at it’s many gifts on offer. I had my girl all her life, now that’s something to celebrate not cry about. 😀 xx
      Celtic Wheel of Being..

      Like

  3. you will feel empty for quite some time yet pen but it does get a little less raw with time just let your tears flow when needed it helps to heal but you have fantastic memmories and we all get old it was her time big hugs xxjen

    Like

    • Thanks Jen, and you are right, it was her time, she couldn’t have gone on any longer, and I cry mostly when something she used to do in response to daily tasks doesn’t happen any more, she had so many quirks that it’s like losing a vital part of the day. Hugs to you my lovely friend. xx
      Celtic Wheel of Being..

      Like

  4. You are not alone Bess spirit look over you and she will stay with you as long as you need her and then one day you will both meet again at Rainbow Bridge
    Take care
    Sue

    Like

  5. Hi dear Lady P,
    I want to wish you a beautiful weekend.
    Hopefully you’re having some lovely spring weather for it.
    Happy weekend
    Big hug, Nikki

    Like

    • Thank you Nikki, the weathers’ behaving itself.except for a shower now and again, to remind us who’s boss. I hope your week-end is going well. hugs to you and yours my friend. xx
      Celtic Wheel of Being..

      Like

  6. Oh dear Lady Pen,
    I had no idea of your losses! So sad and now I know why you have the tears. There are no words I know to comfort you. Perhaps a smile through the grief as I send the warmth from a feathery Raven.
    May this promise of spring and the memories of loving lives you shared bring you smiles, always🙂
    Rx

    Like

    • MY sincere thanks Raven, smiles are there when I remember her mad and quirky ways. Just feeling the loss as I look for her when my mind is on something else, and I have to come to terms with the fact she’s not enriching my day any more. xx
      Celtic Wheel of Being..

      Like

  7. Oh, sad, Pen – that warm little presence gone – hard to come to terms with.😦

    Like

  8. Oh Pen….I wish I had something to say that would comfort you! *hug*

    Like

  9. My heart goes out to you. Very well-written, open and honest espression of grief. Well done.

    Like

  10. Listen up Buttercup… your loss is shared by many. Bess will never truly be forgotten. Although it’s difficult today to see beyond your sorrow, I do really hope that when you look back on all the good times that you had with her, your memories will help comfort you tomorrow and the days ahead.

    What we have once enjoyed
    we can never lose;
    All that we love deeply,
    becomes a part of us.
    — Helen Keller —

    Like

    • For the record, I would play ball with you any day. I’d even fetch, but you’d have to rub my belly afterwards and I don’t think you’re up to that. 🙂

      Like

    • Very true, Seth , I know that day by day I will remember times of fun and laughter with my girl more than feel the pain of losing such a wonderful friend. It’s only been two weeks, and it seems like ages without that bundle of love and play!! I know, buck up and smile.. I am getting there., I am, but it’s so bl**dy hard sometimes. xx
      Celtic Wheel of Being..

      Like

  11. Pen,
    Words are not enough sometimes. The loss of a pet is as bad as losing as losing a member of your family ( which they are really), the pain as hurtful, the memories as sharp.
    It will get better as time passes, be patient, and never forget her, for as long as you remember her she will live in your memories.
    The words say parting is such sweet sorrow…. there doesn’t seem to be much sweet about it…
    Love n hugs and thinking about you Pen,
    all my best wishes
    xxx

    Like

    • True Nick, words are sometimes not enough, the ready tears are there every time I see something which reminds me of the loss of her by my side, (or behind me) her bowl, not taking up space on the shelf, her face, not there peeping round the door to ask me to play, or just take her out , her welcome on returning home, it’s a very large hole that she’s left…. but saying that, if there wasn’t it would somehow be so, so wrong. She honoured me with her whole life, and I’m honouring her memory with my tears, seems the only way I know how at the moment, I hope soon to be adding smiles at her maddening way, and the madcap days she brought to my life. Many thanks to you, for your kind and thoughtful words my friend. Love and hugs…xPenx
      Celtic Wheel of Being..

      Like

  12. I have avoided reading this for awhile, but, today is the 4th sad anniversary of losing MY girl and I just wanted to say, dear Pen, that I know exactly how you feel and offer up a ((BIG HUG)). Life will go on, but, yes, that missing presence will always be felt. My heart goes out to you.

    Like

    • A {{{BIG HUG}}}} back to you feeling your pain, Debbie, sometimes, just sometimes, I smile at a memory, painful yes, but funny too. It seems just a minute ago she was there, then gone, full stop. I play over the scene in the vets again and again, as my mind will not let it go, just as I didn’t want to let her go, but I had to, it was time. I just want to hug her again… xPenx
      Celtic Wheel of Being..

      Like

  13. hello miss Pen
    je me suis laissé guidé par tes mots
    et j’aim aimé mes lectures chez toi
    j’espere que tu vas bien mieux
    bisous et douces pensées vers toi

    Like

☞ ...your thoughts in response are very welcome .....☋

