Scattered Thoughts…

There is a table
and chair
in the corner
by a window
where the sun shines through
there a woman is sat, staring outwards
blind to the beauty of the garden she knew.
Her thoughts were turned inward, not seeing
the old tree she had climbed as a child,
the brook where she had paddled and sat by it
as a tomboy,
full of ideas and running wild.
Her scattered thoughts were on the past
and her mother who she missed
and longed to see again
but today she’d said goodbye at the funeral
Mum was gone,  with only memories to remain.
Sighing, she suddenly stood,  moved the chair back
walked to the door,
which she locked with a heavy heart
turning slowly she once again viewed the
‘Sold’ sign.
Gone was the past,
time for change,
for a brand new start…
LadyP© 2011


59 responses to “Scattered Thoughts…

  1. Enjoyed this contemplation on death and renewal, Pen – some places are so bound up with good memories, it’s painful to have to leave them xx

    Like

    • I visited my old family home a few years ago bb, and everything looked smaller, grown up eyes view I suppose. Trouble was, as someone else now had the place, I felt the ties were broken, memories still reminded me, that tree where I used to climb and sit by the wall, looking on the World, the wooden Porch where I used to chat with my best friend…Consigned to the back of my mind. As places are only important because of the people you grew up with,. ah well, xx
      Photobucket

      Like

  2. I came back to say that not so long ago my brother sold up the family home of over sixty years . We all visited the house to say goodbye , our children too even remark that it was strange that it was no longer part of their lives! Our parents long gone but the sale of the house bought it all back. Marvellous poem.

    Like

    • Thank you for dropping by again Willow, some houses have that certain ‘feel’, as if they belong to just you….But we soon learn that it’s the people not the place which fills it with the love and memories we remember. … xx
      Photobucket

      Like

  3. it’s hard for me to accept that death is an important part of life. but i know on some levels it is true. you have a very touching piece here. moving, sad, yet ending with a note of hope for the future…

    Like

    • I’m glad you enjoyed my reminiscing Cursi, some things were changed but the emotion is the same. and I do like to think there’s hope in the future, always. thank you for the lovely comment my friend. x
      Photobucket

      Like

  4. I love the my memories back I do off and on that even walking the parks.
    The other days I stopped an old my home that I was happily lived with my family for over 25 years and take photos all the trees were grown still same as when I used to lived there and It is not far away from where I lived.
    Your poems are always nice to read xpenx
    Have a peaceful weekend.
    Michiko.

    Like

    • Thank you for sharing Michiko San, it must be lovely to be able to visit the past in that way. 25 years is a long time to live in a house so you must have many fond memories to look back on. . A wonderful week-end wish to you and yours my friend. xx
      Photobucket

      Like

  5. We moved so many times when I was growing up … I always envied people that know so much about their roots … for one … it makes me feel free … on the other hand … it makes me feel like I never really belong anywhere … Have a lovely w/e, my lovely friend … purrrs (and hopefully little woofs again sometime …?) cat.

    Like

    • I really think places are less important than the people Cat, when I returned to my home town, it felt odd, without the presence of my family… . I hope you had a fine week-end my friend, purrs to you… xx
      Photobucket

      Like

  6. A lovely contemplation, Pen. It’s hard to say good-bye to the past. My oak trees live in my memory along with my childhood collie. I visited years ago and – it’s true – he ran to the gate to greet me!

    Like

  7. Hi Pen I loved this one , when I visited my brother in the North East this June past. I passed the house I grew up in oh how small it looked. Funny that and the wall I used to climb on my way to school, didn’t look so high . Yes memories thank Pen loved this one. Sheila and Wile-e xx:)

    Like

  8. wordsfallfrommyeyes

    I can feel this. You know, Iremember what house I grew up in and, yeah, yes I feel that bottom line.

    Like

  9. An empty nest fell from a tree,
    A robin asked, “Where can home be?”
    She found nothing left but two twigs and air,
    “I’ll build something more beautiful and fair,”
    A mansion was built on precarious limb,
    But even she knew the future was grim,
    Winds of destruction blew the nest far away,
    So she built another that was certain to stay,
    Her fame was spread throughout the land,
    As curious folks came to see if the mansion would stand,
    But did she live where she got her start?
    Of course not, she built one that was cozy, right from the heart.

    When we can’t go back, we reinvent the past, only better.

    Like

☞ ...your thoughts in response are very welcome .....☋

