Nothing…

 

Gold Ring
Mystical Gold RingMystical Gold Ring“There’s nothing I need”
I said to the Stall Man,
stood drinking his coffee beside a White Van.
His eyebrows raised,  his eyes twinkled with glee,
he thought for a while before he answered me.
“Nothing at all…  Not in need of anything?
Well, how about this?”  he brought forth a small ring,
saying “This is so special, why not try it for size?”
It fitted exactly, my eyes gazed long at the prize,
I asked“How can I afford such a precious thing?”
said he “Take it, for all the luck it might bring
It was forged by someone I met times past
may it bring you good fortune enough to last”
I sighed before asking
“What will the price be?”
he stared, deadly serious
eyes hypnotising me.
“No money will buy this,
it has chosen you now.
Charmed to your finger,
soon it will show you how
to travel between Worlds
thought long ago dead”
His voice now filled me
with excitement-tinged dread.
“You are destined to search
on quests travelling far,
Milady, nothing
you need?
How so
wrong
you
are”

LadyP© 2011

Gold Ring

33 responses to “Nothing…

  1. Oh boy, my friend … you made me cry with this one … can’t really put my finger on why that would be … so beautifully written … love and purrrs, my lovely friend, cat.

    Like

    • I have no idea where this one came from Cat, it just bubbled up to the surface, then took me ages to form and complete satisfactorily. Your lovely words and response made it all worthwhile… Luv ‘n purrs to you… xPenx
      Gold Ring

      Like

  2. A
    N
    D

    So let the journey begin Lady Pen…
    What a wonderful poem you have woven
    and I hope that you will be offering some
    of those wicked adventures here soon 🙂

    Have a lovely rest of
    day now and be good 😉

    Androgoth XXx

    Like

    • ’tis a journey without end Andro, ‘cos my imagination travels it every day… I hadn’t thought about taking it any further…Poor Fyrespike gets very little attention , and Gil and Hortense…they’ll be organising a protest rally soon… Hope your week-end is proving a Gothically wicked one my great friend. xPenx
      Gold Ring

      Like

  3. Adventure…just what you need right now to give you a lift…but be careful.
    Beautifully written, Lady Pen.

    Deb xx

    Like

    • I tend to get my adventure thro’ my imagination and stories, Deb, I think it’s safer that way … I control the ‘Pen’…. or do I? (did you hear laughter then? 😉 ) …. Glad you enjoyed the story/rhyme. my lovely friend. xx
      Gold Ring

      Like

  4. Pen, I have a ring that found me. I have no idea where it came from, who’s ring it was, it just appeared. It fits my little finger perfectly, but I don’t wear it. It is one of those ‘mood’ rings that change colour. I have a wrought iron (?) bookshelf, and have placed the ring on one of the spikes at the top. I see it regularly. Your poem today has spoken to me. We say we need nothing, but really, we do, if only a kind smile from someone.

    Like

    • Loved your comment Sir Aquatom, had my imagination nodes tweaking, I mean, my ring is story-bound, but yours is in actuality there with you… Have you tried to teleport with it? You never know… I once tried to, thinking all it needed was the power of the mind and a strange necklace I found, Sigh!! but nothing happened…mayhap my imagination isn’t strong enough yet? or I haven’t found the ‘right’ teleport-tool… and yes we all need something, mayhap something as simple as a helping hand now and again… or as you say. a smile to lift the day.. xx
      Gold Ring

      Like

  5. Lovely poem Pen – VERY mysterious!!! 🙂

    Love and squishy hugs!

    Prenin.

    Like

  6. loved this poem pen we all need even when we think we dont be happy pen not sad anymore we need you here on wordpress what would we do without lady pen xxjen

    Like

    • Glad you enjoyed the storyline Jen, it’s one which appeals, and mayhap one day it might come true…who knows for sure? .. and I’m here on WordPress thro’ all the changes they heap on us, it’s like a contest of wills, and I’ll always find my way about… (or die in the trying!! ) hugs to you and gorgeous Heidi… xPenx
      Gold Ring

      Like

  7. The things you need,
    Are waiting indeed,
    Oh, what a surprise,
    Waits in disguise,
    On quests traveling away,
    Your heart knows the way,
    A ring that chose you,
    Knows what you should do,
    The path is narrow and steep,
    But there is happiness to keep,
    There is no price except your heart,
    Be willing to give it right from the start.

    Visions and dragons and magical things,
    Gargoyles, sea captains, and silver rings,
    All your dreams dancing in smoke and mist,
    Now, dear Pen, what’s first on your list?

    Like

    • on my list Dan?… Wow, only the limitations of my imagination binds me…Sea Captains shone out through your words above. I wonder why? 😉 … Many thanks Dan, for your lovely and thought inducing rhyming comment. Now where’s that list I started ages ago, when I first put pen to paper… (picture this, the scene is set, a messy room, papers cast about and yet, a list still not found, it hides from sight, Pen searches here n’ there, deep into the night. ), 😀 xPenx
      Gold Ring

      Like

  8. Just wish there was nothing I needed, I’ve a list a mile long…
    Always enjoy reading your poetry Lady P…..

    Like

    • Many thanks Lady Jude, glad you enjoyed this one, and yes, if we stopped to note our needs I wonder how long it would take?… and would we find we really didn’t need so much?… Who knows for sure ’til we look inside our hearts… have a good Sunday my friend. xPenx
      Gold Ring

      Like

  9. Beautiful and enchanting writing , gifts with no price , gifts offering satisfaction of the heart with no price tag
    I enjoyed that dear friend
    Aussie Ian aka Emu

    Like

  10. Gotta love those poems that rise unbidden… 🙂 xxx

    Like

  11. What a wonderful poem Lady P, filled with mystery and wonders of what adventures lay ahead.
    Thanks so much for signing up for the guestbook event. I think it’ll be fun, sort of like cyber trick or treating for us lol.
    Hope you’re having a wonderful weekend.
    Big hugs, Nikki

    Like

    • Hi Nikki, many thanks my friend, glad you enjoyed the reading of this tale, and looking forward to your Guestbook event, sounds a whole lotta fun… 😀 … Have a wonderful Monday …. hugs to you too.. xx
      Gold Ring

      Like

  12. Oh Pen you must let us know where the ring takes you, what mysterious lands you visit and what wondrous tales you bring back, can I borrow it please, I could do with a bit of excitement.
    Hope you#re feeling a bit more upbeat now. Thinking of you
    hugs and head butts from Moi, Ruby and Tango X

    Like

    • It’s sorta bonded to my finger Arlene, BUT you can tag along if you like. 😀 , It hasn’t taken me anywhere yet, mayhap I need a magic word or have to telepathically tell it to do something or other? Could take me a lifetime working it out… Head butts are welcome (might do some good 😉 ) … and hugs and woofs to you, Tango and Ruby in return. xPenx
      Gold Ring

      Like

  13. Lovely and adventurous. I want to follow the narrator and see what comes next 🙂 great work!

    Like

    • My thanks VW, (for short , hope you don’t mind, but my typing is terrible and it;s less tempting fate that I get your handle wrong) Love your response, and so pleased you enjoyed this tale as told…x
      Gold Ring

      Like

  14. There is a definite difference in this and your last poem; something quite wonderful is happening there! Even from across the Atlantic, I can feel that something beautiful is happening with your work. More than many kudos!

    Like

    • Thank you John, I don’t know if there’s a definite change in myself or my outlook but this just started with the line, “there’s nothing I need” and grew (like Topsy) from there.. I’m just pleased you enjoyed the read….xx
      Gold Ring

      Like

  15. this is twisted, the ring sounds evil just like the one ring from LOTR
    i will no more call your works fantasy in mainstream sense, since i’ve come to live in them, to breath in them, the fantasy etched in my mind is what i believe to be reality. 🙂

    no one can say they want nothing, if we check deeper there is something we want. something simple or maybe even a desire to be loved and treated equal.

    a lovely poem. i enjoyed reading.

    Like

    • The ring is a symbol, or so I thought, to enable a soul freedom from being caught, to simply let imagination soar, to aid the wanting, the need for more. ….
      We always need something, this I know, fallenelegy, it’s recognising exactly what that’s the killer, glad you enjoyed this tale as read… x
      Gold Ring

      Like

  16. Oh do I ever like this poem. I like the gifting in it. I like the idea that the ring chose you. I like the reminder that an old man gifted something that bore the thought of something bigger than the ring that would become a reminder of that special conversation everytime the receiver faced something new or was in need along the way. Beautiful. I like this poem titled “Nothing”.

    Like

    • I am so, so pleased at your response, Leslie, sometimes my imagination gets carried away, and I wonder how someone else will perceive the ideas I’ve written on the page…As an artist I know you have ‘feelings’ for your finished painting and want it viewed and enjoyed, almost a part of yourself on show, … almost like your child and you feel protective, it’s been like that since day one when I first put one of my poems for public viewing, a cringing time, waiting to see how it’s received… Mayhap I’m being very fanciful,,. but that’s how I feel every time I ‘update’ … It’s just words rhymed I know… but it’s my words rhymed, from deep inside. 😉 Once again, I am so pleased you enjoyed ‘Nothing’ xx
      Gold Ring

      Like

  17. Oh, good – a precious ring that chooses you, cannot be bought. Lovely.

    Like

☞ ...your thoughts in response are very welcome .....☋

