Versatility…

 

versatile-blogger

 

Prithee bear with me, as my good friend, Sir Aquatom,  hath given me the chance to furnish thee with 7 things about mine own self. After the finishing of this said task, I was bound by rules scribed in ancient scrolls and magically sealed,  to pick 15 other blogs to likewise furnish a ‘Versatile Blog Award’ too.
Verily, one was set about by a worrisome fever of the brain, BUT then one didst recall way back in January of this year of Our Lord MMXI, a similar Award received,  at that time one was overcome with panic and thought whomsoever shouldst one pick?.. Forsooth, how couldst any fine blog be highlighted above another, as all are versatile bloggers in their own right. A seemingly hopeless, nay verily impossible task …  So, after partaking of a posset  an idea was wrought, I dost award every one of thee this prestigious “Versatile Blogger Award” Title … and thou canst pick up the baton of sharing 7 things about thyself if thee doth so wish …

7 things of Pen……

  1. The name ‘Pen’ (Penelope, Penny, whatever!!)  is my middle name, hated by me since childhood , my first name is … not going to say..!!
    But I did start up my blog with the name Lady Penelope, after happening across a 
    YouTube video, and therefore it’s all the fault of Gerry Anderson and his Thunderbirds series…  Before my time but it looked fun…
  2. My father left the family when I was a small child, I’ve always dreamed of finding out why, and if he ever regretted doing so. Sadly I will never find out, as he died before we could meet…I still remember the last time I saw him, I think, unless it’s a false memory…
  3. I always wear my Manchester United Shirt when listening or watching their games at home, (can’t afford to go to all the matches) … To my mind this is why they have such ‘winning ways.’  😉 
  4. I was born in Darlington, County Durham, at my Grandparents Bungalow, a place which holds very special memories for me. Sadly when they died it was sold and I would so love to be able to afford to buy it back… Although I do wonder sometimes if without those two special people, it won’t feel the same?
  5. I have a ‘thing’ about recycling,  I worry about the planet and what our disgusting habits of a throwaway society is going to do to it’s beauty and it’s wildlife. Have you heard about the ‘plastic garbage patch’ ?
  6. I also have a ‘thing’ about milk, I worry if I don’t have enough in the house.  At this precise moment I have 3 x 4ltrs in my fridge. (the plastic bottles are recyclable…) I have no idea if this phobia is some deep, dark memory from my childhood, maybe we ran out for days?  Who knows how the mind works, especially mine!!
  7. I wonder daily about life and it’s meaning, I have tried since I was a child to ‘Do as you would be Done By’…a saying I read in the book  ‘The Water Babies’  by Charles Kingsley… I took this very literally and went about to do a daily ‘good deed’ … I still hold to the reasoning that if one looks for the best in life, day by day, surely it will be found? 

    SO there you have it, all of you Versatile Bloggers, feel free to join in should you so wish… I feel better already…   :-)                      LadyP ……..2011

28 responses to “Versatility…

  1. Sounds good Pen!🙂

    I too try to do good deeds, but they don’t always work out…

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

    Like

  2. So, Lady P is your secret identity Pen… they are always good to have! I was called Superman this morning by a lady in the shop where I helped with the spider the other day… I wanted to say ‘No, Aquatom!’ but that would have given my game away completely…
    And your seven things are far more interesting than mine, Pen. You are a lucky charm to Man U, and a loyal citizen on our great planet!

    Like

    • Ah .. you’re Superman spiderman?… Sir Aquatom…and good job you resisted the temptation to give away your secret ID, always a problem…. Glad you enjoyed my 7 things… tho I can’t agree they’re more interesting than yours.. . ‘cos I knew them already 😀 … xx

      versatile-blogger

      Like

  3. Ah Pen, what a lovely post, and just enough of a revelation about your good self to interest, but still a lot to ponder upon, Just who is this mysterious lady with the silver pen and winsome words? I guess like you will never know your father [I can empathise with that one] WE will never really know you, BUT I do know that you have a kind and good heart, all people who love dogs have, especially collie lovers. so hugs and good vibes from one lost soul to another XX

    Like

    • I’m glad you enjoyed the read Arlene, and I am just moi`, a penpusher who loves to share her ideas and imagination thro’ stories and poems. My love of Collies is simply unbounded, (I felt sure my girl was by my side in the garden this morning) and I love seeing Tango and Ruby on your site..gives me contact with the lovely intelligent breed. So give them both a big hug from me… ( I so, so miss hugging Her Maj, and now I’ve made myself cry…. silly woman that I am😉 ) … so with the keyboard all blurry I’ll say many thanks fro your lovely words. and please accept this award with thanks for being you. xx

      versatile-blogger

      Like

      • I’ve just got back to this one I’ve noticed I don’t get notifications of your post comments now, so i must re fresh the ‘follow be email’
        I wanted to thank you for the award, I’m not sure if i’m supposed to put it on my blog, if so I don’t know how. but as it’s gone 10 pm i’m off to bed. g,night from we three XX

        Like

        • HIya Arlene, you can copy the Versatile Blogger Award, and then post it in a widget on your site…But I think you may need a http link from somewhere like Photobucket?… I did play with some widgets on my site a while ago, but I forget easily what works with which ones.. .. so It’s really a matter of whether or not it’s worth the effort for the resulting headache…🙂 … hugs to you three from me… xxx

          versatile-blogger

          Like

  4. I loved this post Pen. I know first hand the good deeds you do as I remember a telephone call from across the ocean when I was in the hospital 1 year ago. You are a good friend and I am ever grateful that i know you.

    Like

    • I remember it well Beth, I read your sisters note on your site, complete with telephone number for the hospital, and I thought ‘why not see how Beth is ?’ so i did. and shocked you to high heaven I bet. Hugs to you, and I feel the same way my friend across the water. Please accept this award . .. xx

      versatile-blogger

      Like

  5. Thanks for an insight into the world and life of Lady Penelope
    I thought you might have got the name out of the cartoon series
    The Wacky Race as there is a Penelope in there
    Cheers girl
    Emu

    Like

    • might well have been her had I thought of It Emu, but Lady P was definitely born of Thunderbird fame. (I fancy having a Butler like Parker… How cool or what? and a pink Rolls Royce… ‘Top hole methinks’ ..🙂 ) xx
      Please accept this award my friend. xx

      versatile-blogger

      Like

  6. Are you sure it was seven,
    I thought that it was seventy ?🙂

    Have a lovely rest of week and I
    hope that Man Utd won today🙂

    Androgoth XXx

    Like

    • Nah, ,, would never have been able to find seventy interesting things about myself Andro, and I think I got one wrong anywho, (the milk, 3x2ltrs not 4.. sheesh!! ) … and Man U won but it was a close thing, Norwich fought back, and should have scored often, they made us look sluggish in defense… xx

      versatile-blogger

      Like

  7. You certainly deserve the “versatile blogger” award, with the depth of your curiosity and far-ranging interests! I love reading about you. Some of this we know or guess at – but who could guess you drink so much milk? I hope some of it is chocolate!

    Like

  8. Good morning, Lady Pen,
    My apologies for taken so long to arrive at this wonderful post. Life sometimes keeps me from the computer, as I’m sure you understand.
    You have provided just enough information about yourself to make you even more interesting than you already are. You are certainly one of my most favorite people to come visit.
    Have a lovely day today, Lady Pen!

    Deb xx

    Like

    • Good Morrow to you, and NO apologies necessary Deb, and I do understand, sometimes I’m unable to log on for a day or so, and on returning it seems there’s so much to catch up on… I’m glad you enjoyed reading the info above, I suppose it is part of what makes me tick, … (sometimes I feel my battery needs recharging but I haven’t stopped altogether yet. 😉 ) … have a great Sunday my good friend and versatile blogger…xPenx

      versatile-blogger

      Like

  9. Hehehehe Pen I use skimmed milk ( I do not tolerate dairy products too well though I love them!!) and I keep ours in the freezer . Sometimes we have three frozen 4pts in the freezer and a 4pts in the fridge …who cares why as long as we are not worrying!! The Thunderbirds were ace as were their sister story Stingray check this out http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Prtz7FsfDG4 I am also worried about the planet and recycle as much as I can! OH! Boy see what I mean it is safer in here we are in control!! ;o) Big hugs back at you .willow xx

    Like

    • Hi there Willow, shake oh milk storer you..😉 I made a mistake with the quantities.. 3 x 2ltrs.. not 4ltrs… I’d be bathing it the stuff… and I agree , so much safer in here…I shall move in forthwith and no-one can oust me… Now, where shall I put my milk?… 😀 hugs xPenx

      versatile-blogger

      Like

  10. It’s nice to learn a little more about you, LadyP. 🙂

    Like

  11. Hi Pen sorry I have missed some of your posts, yikes where does the time go… Thank you that was a lovely little insight to who you are, and I was born at home also in Sunderland Co. Durham. Me to worry about the planet Pen what to do oh dear. Hugs Sheila and naughty little Wile-e🙂 xx

    Like

    • That’s ok Sheila, I think I’ve been unusually prolific the last few days… Happens sometimes when the words are just wanting to come out…Glad you enjoyed reading this one my friend… Naughty Wile-e? I must drop by and see what he’s been up to… Please accept this award, … xx

      versatile-blogger

      Like

  12. I sort of did a “good deed” the other day. A young boy was near a “lolly machine” that needed a 20cent coin to extract the lolly. The mother saying to him she didn’t have the right change. I dropped a 20cent coin near the boy and walked away. Soon afterwards the boy came after me saying I had dropped the coin and wanting to give it back to me. It would have been so elegant – anyway I did tell him to keep the coin and he did get the lolly. (To the detriment of his teeth, but never mind.)

    Like

    • well, it’ll take time for his teeth to fall out, so I think you can count it as a good deed …(for now 😉 ) Pat, and you gave me a laugh, (sorry) just to imagine your face as the little boy did his good deed and brought your coin back. xx

      versatile-blogger

      Like

☞ ...your thoughts in response are very welcome .....☋

