A Duet…

th_Money_Bag_2 Money and happiness
may not mean the same,
neither linked in a duet
as sunshine after rain,
but when you’re lacking
either of these two,
can money oil the way
letting happiness
squeeze
through?
LadyP©2013

I have never believed that money buys happiness,  but I am a believer in the thought that money can help ease the way along life’s highway. Lack of money can cause problems, health wise and mental wise, through worry and stress.  Been there, done that… The cost of living?… Methinks ‘tis what you make of it, testing your inner mettle and finding pure gold of spirit…. 🙂  xx

36 responses to “A Duet…

  1. Tis true Pen but as you say can help to make us more comfortable . As all of us need a helping hand from time to time. Also being able to help all those little critters and kiddies out there in need of help. That would indeed bring me happiness knowing I have lent a helping hand…..
    Oh and I could have the heating on most of time as tis a wee chilly of late. 🙂

    Many Hugs Pen
    x Sheila xxx

    Like

    • So many charities, Sheila, all wanting help and it’s heartbreaking … I just wish that we lived in a world where none were needed…That all needs were met somehow, mayhap that’s a pipe dream, but until thenI will keep on giving as much as I can… True too, seems with our late Spring weather turning colder we’ll be using more Gas/Electric.. Yikes!!! Much Happiness to you and Li’l Lucy, Sheila, hugs aplenty… xPenx

      th_Money_Bag_2

      Like

  2. Just as Sheila says, LadyP, money enables many to help others in need, sharing and giving can equal happiness in this way. We never seem to have enough nowadays to equal the rise in the cost of living, but we have to find it from somewhere, so someone loses out., usually the charities are first. Lovely to the point poem as always. x

    Like

    • So true, MikeR, charities seem the first to suffer when money is tight., I have a cheque book which is only used for sending to Charities, as I don’t like setting up Direct Debits if I can help it… This cheque book gets hammered every month, and I daren’t add up how much I send … but once started I can’t let them down.
      Sheeesh!! Many thanks for your sweet comment. xx

      th_Money_Bag_2

      Like

  3. I agree with you, Pen. Money does not buy happiness, but it does fix a lot of things. And in a sense that can make us happier by bringing some relief to a situation. But to be truly happy all or most of the time, we have to create that ourselves from within.
    Oh wait, warm buttered biscuits make us both happy over a cup of tea…passing them to you know. 🙂
    Have a great day, and week, my dear friend!
    Love and hugs xxx

    Like

    • Money used well,Deb, as you say, can help fix lots of problems,… and I’ve seen lots of well-off people looking miserable. (probably more worried about losing their wealth than we are in gaining some) .. ’tis true, happiness comes from within, ’tis a state of mind that’s within all our reaches… and of course , … warm biccies, and a cuppa go a long way to making me happy Deb, hugs aplenty and many thanks for your thoughtful comment… xxxxxxxPenxxxxxxxxx

      th_Money_Bag_2

      Like

  4. Very true, Pen. Money can help, but you can also be rolling in it and be utterly miserable! Having enough for what I need and a bit left over is good enough for me (although I wouldn’t say no should a spare few million find itself on my lap! All above board of course…)
    It’s the being happy that matters, not the having…

    Like

    • yup, you hit the nail on the head, Sir Aquatom, Look at Lord Sugars face, ’tis usually wearing a frown whenever I see him.. (ont’ TV not…..erm… face to face kind of thing 🙂 ) Same for me too, in that enough to pay bills and a bit over for a few treats is fair do’s, BUT should the numbers crunch for me… I’d be well chuffed. 🙂 xxx

      th_Money_Bag_2

      Like

  5. I agree, Pen. Money CAN ease the way. Wishing everyone *just enough* money and LOTS of happiness!

    Like

    • I wish you the same, Kathy, …. health and happiness uppermost… then wealth as an afterthought… Important , but not too important in the grand scheme of things.. xx

      th_Money_Bag_2

      Like

  6. I agree, money is part of this mortal experience and, we should see it as a stewardship ~ I understand what the lack of it, it can bend the spirit to deep sorrow and suffering ~ great poem! Blessings

    Like

  7. I think that’s true. Having enough money so that you can live comfortably and not worry about things is helpful, but having a huge amount of money over what you really need often does little to make people’s lives better.

    Like

    • A friend told me about her cousin who won a couple of million on the Lottery here in the UK, Binky, and apparently his life changed for the worse… His wife left him, his family argued constantly about who had what, and how much… ’tis just as you say, enough for you to live comfortably without financial worry, would be perfect.. xx

      th_Money_Bag_2

      Like

  8. I don’t know if money would make me happy, but I’d love to win the lottery and find out!!! 🙂

    Love and squishy hugs!

    Prenin.

    Like

    • I think we all would Sir Prenin, the chance to open up your horizons and use money to help others would be a high priority for me (and move to a quieter neighbourhood 😉 ) … Whether or not happiness would follow on is something we’ll never know ’til our numbers come up… luv n’ hugs xPenx

      Like

  9. Before happy with money our friend .
    But lack of many can cause problems with worry and mental worry of stress.
    NO HAPPY MONEY but peoples lives better now.

    Like

  10. Agreed wholeheartedly. More than just enough is about right by me. I’ve done my scraping by, thank you.

    Like

    • If the lottery numbers came up for me Andrew, I’d sure as heck try to find a way to be happy… 🙂 but until then, having just enough ( and a bit more) works for me too.. Worrying when the next bill is due is not conducive to a happy smiling outlook… xx

      th_Money_Bag_2

      Like

  11. Money can’t buy happiness or good health but it sure can make life more comfortable. 🙂 xx

    Like

  12. Money never buys happiness, but no money doesn’t either … health does though … physical heath … mental heath … just lost a dear patient to suicide … Curtis was suffering from schizophrenia … he always called me “Lady Flower Doyle” … just the day before yesterday … he always called me that, when he was really sick … I did not pick up on it in time … o, Lady Pen … hugs and purrs and woofs and love, cat.

    Like

    • Sorry to hear about Curtis Cat, … must be difficult to pick up on, and if a patient is determined there may never be a chance to save them… warmest of hugs to you my lovely friend, woofs and purrs too…and of course love my sweet friend.. Pen

      th_Money_Bag_2

      Like

  13. Much as we want to say money can’t buy happiness. There is a gray area between the two. We do need money for our basic needs but it should not rule our life….we should rule it to make our lives and others happier and more fun.

    Like

    • True words, Traveler, we must make the money work for us, and not let it mean more than it should. You cannot buy happiness, but you can make others happy through it’s ability to hep those in dire need. xx

      th_Money_Bag_2

      Like

  14. We live in a material world Pen where money is the currency we live with.. While we can live with less, and there are many gifts in life we cannot buy with Money.. Money I am afraid is a fact of life that without it Life on Earth would fall apart..There is enough people in the world steeling from each other… If Money and Banks were to shut their doors now.. Life would soon take a turn for the worse.. And chaos would ensue…..

    Money does make life much more comfortable than struggling to pay bills and keep warm and a roof over your heads…

    A thought provoking post! ~Sue x

    Like

    • Many thanks Sue, for your thoughtful response, and I agree with every word, .. money is a necessity, without which we’d lose any hope of civilization, … but the sharing out of what is there is totally unbalanced towards the rich,. who hang on to every penny by finding loopholes, tax wise, off shore accounting, … whilst the everyday person has to pay through the nose, … happiness is not tied to money, but money does fulfill a basic need, and I feel happy when a bill is paid.. phew!! … love and light… xPenx

      th_Money_Bag_2

      Like

  15. It’s not really the money that is the culprit but what some are willing to do for it or with it. For some people it buys a freedom from fear of debt and secures the space for happiness to enter.

    Like

  16. on a besoin d’argent certe pour vivre , pour acheter de quoi se nourir, se loger, s’habiller mais avec celui là ne s’achete pas l’amour et le bonheur
    mon avis et le tien sont même
    bisous

    Like

    • merci beaucoup Paul, pour votre commentaire, et oui, nous sommes d’accord mon ami, l’argent ne nous rend pas heureux, il contribue un peu, mais le bonheur vient de l’intérieur. étreintes et baisers xPenx

      th_Money_Bag_2

      Like

☞ ...your thoughts in response are very welcome .....☋

