Climbing…

shining dove with rays on a dark It appears
I’m climbing a mountain,
my whole life a spur to the top.
At the moment it feels slow going
I’m afraid to slowdown and stop.
Looking back I see many detours,
mistaken when faith grew weak.
When the way seemed easier,
or so I thought, until the
trail led me back to seek,
the true path to the crown
,
to the summit, where every
breath is now thin and frail.
Reaching the pinnacle of life’s
desire,  to achieve flight, not to
plummet and thereby fail.
LadyP©2013

62 responses to “Climbing…

  1. Your poem reminds me that, no matter how often we choose to detour or try another path, the summit calls us back. We won’t plummet. We’re too near.

    Like

  2. Hey, where’s the TSA machine and airport security folks?

    Like

  3. So many distraction in life, Pen!
    Much love and hugs xxx

    Like

  4. No matter what the temptation to…never, ever look back! Look always to the future or you may get the chance to go back…to failure!! Upward and onward even when your breath is failing you! March on my soul! Be strong!!

    Like

  5. Oh, the twists and turns on the way to 360 degree vision! I sometimes wonder why getting even a simple truth took me so long. And that image! The dove of peace at the heart-center of a blazing universe of energy! My heart is pounding from the climb!

    Like

  6. That was very nice. It seems distractions often derail us from our true goals.

    Like

  7. I adore this piece. Absolutely adore it and its message of hope;).

    Like

☞ ...your thoughts in response are very welcome .....☋

