Combustion…

flame_thumb.gif
              When  I  allow                                                  
                                                          my                                                                                   
                                               thoughts                                             
                                                                         to                                                               
                                                                 roam                                      
                                                           free,                                      
                                          ideas                                 
                                       abound                                                
                                    they come to me.                                
Most circle and
await their turn
whilst others
self combust
and burn.
A shame I know,

for maybe those were the best
that I would ever compose!
LadyP©2013

80 responses to “Combustion…

  1. My train of thought goes off the rails for no reason at all, Pen. So many lost ideas….there is a debate as to how useful,they might have been based on how much thought I put into useless musings.
    But as for you…I don’t know how many fine thoughts of which you may lose track, but the ones you keep are most often deep and helpful to the rest of us. I find connection with your words quite often.🙂

    Like

    • I often wonder if my train of thought will ever dry up Steve, by wonder I mean worry of course 😉 But until now it’s served me well, excepting now and again as this poem describes, I try to hold onto the idea but it just wriggles free. Many thanks for your lovely compliment, very much appreciated, and it means a lot, it truly does to know that my musings are enjoyed (I have a thought to name them something other than poems? For to me they aren’t that grand, just reflections maybe?) xx

      flame_thumb.gif

      Like

  2. If I don’t write down my ideas immediately, they are gone with the wind.

    Like

    • gone, blown away to smithereens, never to be seen again. OR mayhap they return and we don’t realise it Binky? Now that would be better methinks, thought/idea recycling. xx

      flame_thumb.gif

      Like

  3. This is great, PennyG – the way you weaved thoughts and combustion🙂

    Like

  4. There is more than a little grain of truth in this Pen. How often have I had a wonderful idea and by the time I go to write it down it has gone. I love the idea of thoughts waiting their turn🙂

    Like

  5. Ha! It’s worse when the short term memory is getting old and weak too! It combusts away so fast that it isn’t even funny!!!!!
    Maybe an idea book to carry along…every where!

    Like

  6. I know, Pen. That is the worst part of being creative, isn’t it? One just can’t get it all down. I think of what I see and want to record and share int paint and, hard as I try, I can’t capture it all. Then I think, how horrible to run out of any of it and am satidfied again. Good one!

    Like

  7. Sugar Bee Chronicles

    Alas, like my thoughts sometimes, too……they fly away in a nanosecond, flying ever so far awa, like ash in the breeze . . . 😉 ~Susan xx

    Like

  8. I liked this poem a lot. So on the money or hitting the nail on the head. It seems that just about everyone that has commented has the same problem. I have begun putting my thoughts in draft on my blog. And other ones I jot down in notebook kept beside the computer and another one in the kitchen and yet another in my vehicle. But lest you think that I am organized – well I am not. I just got tired of losing ideas that I felt were good at the time.

    Now if and when my health improves and I get the motivation to actually work on a post again, I’ll be doing really good, 🙂 🙂

    Like

    • you sound very organised Yvonne, but I’ll take your word that you aren’t🙂 I tried to be better organised ideas/memory wise by carrying a little voice recorder around with me, but I kept losing the darned thing, and to be honest I still don’t understand the menu settings. So I shall just have to sigh and let go the ideas which slip though my fingers. I do hope your health improves quickly my friend, and look forward to your organised updates. Softest of hugs to you. xPenx

      flame_thumb.gif

      Like

  9. Thus we seize the moment and make the most of what we can. I too had moments like these and it’s sad when those moments, thoughts and chances are burned and forever lost. Awesome post!

    Like

  10. Hallo liebe Freundin Penx ich wünsche dir einen schönen Tag und ein schönes sonniges Weekend.Grüße von mir Gislinde

    Like

  11. I enjoy your gradations to the explosion in your verses! Great !

    Like

  12. Oh yes! The ones that combust are always the best of the best ones! lol😉 I wonder if that applies to the combustion going on every night when Wolfie is trying to sleep in this monstrous heat and can’t!! My imagination is having a wonderful time as it always does when I’m in no position to get any of it logged anywhere😉 It works very well imagining what it’s like to be asleep!!

    Like

    • and they make the best fire methinks Icewolfie, the ones that got away. Sending you icy thoughts to aid sleep, um, Ice Lollies? Ice Cubes? an Ice bucket-ful of ideas aplenty. 😉 xx

      flame_thumb.gif

      Like

  13. Yes Pen, how often do we stumble upon words or ideas we want to record, only to loose them for want of time or effort.
    Ian

    Like

  14. Sometimes Pen, I chase some of my thoughts and grab them back and turn them back into smoke!…. Some thoughts need a little combustion at times… While others I give them Wings like your little Dragon…. Who never seems to tire of puffing away!🙂😉
    Love and Light..
    Sue xxx

    Like

    • Fyrespike’s always puffing at that pipe of his, Sue (makes me wonder what ‘special’ brand he uses😉 ) and those little impish thoughts can be a pain sometimes, slippery and hard to catch hold of. love and light my friend. xxPenxx

      flame_thumb.gif

      Like

  15. Perfectly described plight of many a writer I do so believe. At very least true for me. delightfully written!
    with love, Eddie

    Like

  16. Another amazing and powerful image, Pen, and your words echo other recent posts about elemental force barely or not contained — taken together quite the meteorological phenomenon

    Like

  17. coucou Miss Pen,
    laisse tes pensées vivre leur vie au vent de tes écrits
    si d’autres perdent de leurs ardeurs c’est qu’ils ne méritaient pas d’être posé sur la feuille de papier…j’aime ta façon de poser ton écriture alors ne lache rien car on adore miss Pen
    bisous du jeudi

    Like

    • vous êtes si bon pour mon estime de soi, Paul. Je suis juste content que les gens apprécient mes pensées et mes idées. bisous à toi mon ami et compatriote poète. xPenx

      flame_thumb.gif

      Like

☞ ...your thoughts in response are very welcome .....☋

