Lines…

Line in the Sand Countless lines drawn in the sand
impossibly thin and barely seen,
some show how far you may go
some, where you have been.
Not warnings are they,
simply guidelines
giving hints,
should you need,
on overstepping boundaries
for personal gain or human greed.
Countless lines drawn in the sand,
who drew them long eons past?
Surely they were put in place,
to keep certain knowledge
within our grasp?
LadyP©2013

68 responses to “Lines…

  1. Too much disrespect by far too many! Wonderful truth condensed !

    Like

  2. I could use some lines to guide me to the moon. And maybe other things, too.

    Like

  3. Very thought provoking Pen you certainly have a fine way with words. Hope your week is good and you are cooling down a little.
    Hugs Sheila x

    Like

  4. You know what happens to those lines drawn on sand, don’t you?
    The tide comes in and washes them away.
    Yep. It does it all the time.
    Talk about re-does!
    Hello to all you bright and chipper folks!
    xx Lady Pen

    Like

  5. Hallo liebe Pen ich wünsche dir einen schönen Abend,ich lege immer Steine damit sie nicht weggespült werden.Ein lieber Gruß und Freundschaft Gislinde

    Like

  6. sugarbeechronicles

    Hello, Lady Pen! This really hit home with me. It immediately brought memories of lines people drew and the lines I placed, too, over the years. More recently, I can relate “A Line in the Sand” to my current day job; I’ve had enough with the secret lines in the sand the top manager draws to contain knowledge for himself, and the line I drew secretly in response — a line that makes me determined to retire as soon as I have my years in, and do what really makes me happy and uses the talents I have that this “manager” won’t see. Beautifully, done, Lady Pen! ~Susan xx 🙂

    Like

    • so many interpretations Susan, to compare to our modern life, where lines are drawn and affect us all daily. Some being helpful and some not, but always there to make us stop and think. Many thanks for your thoughtful response. xxx Pen

      Line in the Sand

      Like

  7. No warning imply guidelines to keep certain knowledge with our grasp.
    I am not happy with yet….xLady Penx

    Like

    • Hope for you to be happy soon Michiko, and hope too, that you find my comments to you in the spam folder on your WordPress blog. Dashboard>>spam>>click ‘not spam’ and the comments will be transferred to ‘held in moderation ‘ xx 🙂 xxx

      Line in the Sand

      Like

  8. Good poem, Pen. Makes me stop and think a bit.

    Like

    • glad you enjoyed it Leslie, sometimes as I’m composing poems, I go over the words so often that they begin to lose impact and even I wonder what point I’m trying to make 🙂 xx

      Line in the Sand

      Like

  9. I like the thought it is to keep the knowledge accessible rather than away.
    xxx

    Like

  10. So well-written and thought provoking… Let the waves wash the lines clean.

    Like

  11. Love it. nice written 😀

    Like

  12. des lignes sur le sable, se sont des lignes de vie qui vont là où on ne les attend pas…
    j’ai encore bien aimé te lire miss Pen
    bises à toi

    Like

☞ ...your thoughts in response are very welcome .....☋

