Ship Ahoy….

 sailing ship 3We travel so far, we travel so fast
compared to people from our past.
Chancing their lives by wind and sail
ne’er knowing for sure if they would fail
to reach journeys end, their promised land
to start new lives, thus make a stand,
for future generations to come.
They travelled so far,
and then some.
LadyP©2014

 

40 responses to “Ship Ahoy….

  1. Lovely imaginings thank for sharing Pen
    Xxx

    Like

  2. It is better to travel hopefully than to arrive or something like that. RLS, I believe. I often wish life would slow down a bit, especially travel. But there aren’t many places left to claim for QE2 are there. Of course we may have to reconquer Scotland soon.

    Like

    • “To travel hopefully is a better thing than to arrive -” RLS as you so rightly say Andrew, (had to Google) We do zoom about don’t we? Yet when I travel, (Never been on a plane tho’) train, car, ferry an’ suchlike, I love the journey, in fact, I often wish not to arrive, just sit there, looking at others lives, vicariously watching from the window. So many people journey with just the destinaton in mind, for me, ’tis how I get there. QE1 was a go getter, makes you wonder what England would be like if she’d failed to keep her throne. Now… Scotland conquering eh? Count me in. 🙂 xPenx

       sailing ship 3

      Like

  3. lovely poem Pen!🙂

    In the days of old when mankind travelled on the waves powered only by wind and muscle they sure did a lot of amazing things!🙂

    Many perished, but they found new lands and made them their own.

    These days the loss of even one life is considered too much as we reach out to the planets.

    Maybe one day a child born of another world will looks up and wonder about the fabulous planet where mankind first began…🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

    Like

    • ’tis true, Sir Prenin, life was so much cheaper then, I suppose the reaching out, discovering factor, was more important, the ability/pull to find new lands too strong to count the cost of lives lost. I suppose nowadays we cannot accept loss of life as collateral damage, it’s more precious to us. luv ‘n hugs xPenx

       sailing ship 3

      Like

  4. Beautiful! I often think of my ancestors leaving their homelands knowing they would never see their family again. They would be lucky to get written word to or from, and even that was a huge task. Now if I travel I can see my kids on their phones, on computer…. It amazes me the bravery of our past.

    Like

  5. Chatter Master said something I have thought each time I have read a history book about settlements in other lands. Even our own for example when the great push to the west for land and prospecting happened. They would likely never see their left behind family again.

    Like

  6. Yep, been there, done that … my kids have a pretty good future here … and most of all, they … belong 🙂 Double woofs, tiny earthquake purrrs and lil peeps and lots of love, Lady Pen🙂

    Like

  7. Hello Penny
    allez j’embarque avec toi sur ton chouette navire des mots !!!!
    bisous et bonne fin de dimanche chere amie

    Like

    • Ils ont navigué dans l’inconnu, Paul, il semble toujours aussi romantique, mais ils n’ont jamais su ce que l’avenir lui réservait. Ils étaient braves. avoir une grande nouvelle semaine, mon ami. Bisous à toi. xPenx

       sailing ship 3

      Like

  8. Made me think about my grandfather, then myself … building a life in a different land. You always make me think. xxx

    Like

    • thank you Vera, always lovely to have you visit, and ’tis difficult to start lfe anew, somewhere away from the comfort of ‘home’ where we were born. You’ve made me think too. 🙂 xPenx

       sailing ship 3

      Like

  9. Very well said. I can’t imagine what it was like those far off days. It was bad enough when I came here letters from home took several weeks. The phone was just too expensive except for major events.
    It seemed so far away. Now I Skype and FaceTime with family and it seems like we are just inches away.

    Like

    • I cannot imagine either Rod, we romanticise in films and suchlike, but the unknown must have terrified them surely? excitement too, but I bet they were alive as we have never felt it. Your own experience notwithstanding, of course, but they cut ties forever, searching for a new life. What’s that phrase ‘hell or high water’ seems a fitting description. xxx

       sailing ship 3

      Like

  10. I long to travel! Oh to be young again! XX

    Like

  11. The first few lines made me think of how we as a species have grown to want things so fast and quick…forgetting that the wealth is in the journey…🙂

    Like

    • I feel that too, Shree, we should savour the journey, so much more, I do try… Time is precious why waste so much on worrying about the arrival more than concentrating on the scenery on the way. xPenx

       sailing ship 3

      Like

  12. little was known about the big world years ago.
    today, we know even less
    love, Eddie

    Like

  13. For the most part now, it’s the destination, not the journey. So we have gained, and we have lost. Progress is often like that.

    Like

  14. Oh yes….after you’ve travelled all the way from Europa to Earth you certainly know what travelling long distances is all about!😉

    Like

  15. I enjoyed that nostalgic writing Pen, I am an avid reader of colonial history in Australia, sailing ships that took nine months from England, convict settlers and the start of a new future, times where travel took days and years.
    Your words encompass it all.
    Regards
    Emu

    Like

    • thank you so much Ian, I often wonder at the courage it took for those who had free choice, but the convicts? Wow, that’s a different story altogether, Imagination almost stutters to a halt at what they must have lived thro, just to arrive at their destination. Gald you enjoyed my tribute poem. xxx

       sailing ship 3

      Like

  16. Very true – because our forebears travelled so far – we now travel so fast, I reckon

    Like

  17. This sounds very familiar, Lady P. We should concentrate more on the journey methinks, and not the destination, and try to slow things down a bit. Saying it and doing it are two different things, however!

    Like

  18. And back then they risked falling off the edge of the world, how frightening for them😦 *eek* Another wicked poem ma Lady and thank you for adding such creative pieces, I always enjoy your inventive writing🙂 Have a lovely time today😉

    Andro xxxx

    Like

    • Did you ever see Pirates of the Carribean? Andro, Can’t remember which film in the franchise, but it showed that very thing, I know we know the World is round, but as you say, they didn’t. Brave souls thinking they’d sail right off the World itself. Glld you enjoyed/enjoy my pieces my friend, ’tis a pleasure to serve them up to appreciative audiences. Yaaay!! xPenx

       sailing ship 3

      Like

  19. All those who have traveled before us paved a way for the future..ours and beyond. I think most are looking for their own future and we benefit as a by-product.
    I don’t travel much myself, Pen. Most often it is only as far as I can drive in a day. I don’t care for being airborne at all. Just once and it didn’t create a desire for a repeat performance. Acrophobia and claustrophobia combined don’t encourage entering a metal tube for flight.
    Your description of the uncertainty and risk early travelers undertook is most enjoyable to read, Pen.

    Like

    • I have never been in the air Steve, always travel on the ground I say. Not that far to fall🙂 … Glad you enjoyed the read of this poem, I was wondering about travelling, without any certainty what awaited you at your destination, the rigours you’d go thro’ and the worry of trying to survive. Makes me feel a certain awe for them, the adventurers, the ones who paved the way. xxx

       sailing ship 3

      Like

☞ ...your thoughts in response are very welcome .....☋

