Daily Archives: June 9, 2010

“Smoke me a Kipper, …..

I’ll be back for breakfast”….

was a saying from Red Dwarf.. said by ‘Ace’ one of the characters from the show. To be precise he was a double act, in that The Hologram Rimmer, was his alter ego from a different dimension.. Ace was confident, any girls dream of a man,  an Ace of a man in fact, a hero, whereas  Rimmer, was a failure, he felt he’d let down and been let down his family. His start in life had been flawed in his eyes, and this gave him the excuse to say everything that went wrong was to do with being short-changed by fate, so, {{shrug }} ..how could he succeed?… Whilst Ace, in his dimension had the same start in life, the one thing that changed him from the moaning, “poor me Rimmer,” was that he was kept back a year in School, and this changed his whole attitude… he proved himself, shone, in life and in his ability to look it in the eye and say “give me your best shot…” 

In a way, I feel Rimmer was right, you are shaped by your start in life, if there were different dimensions in time, where your alter ego makes different decisions than you, creates a new path through life, therefore heads off into another reality what would it prove?  Are there a few LadyP’s?  One who’s a millionaire maybe?…One who’s worn down by life, debts, children, mopping a floor in her kitchen, pushing her bosoms out of the way as she goes?  One who went to University to better herself, as my aunt said I should , though I declined, … IT’s thought provoking , yes , but are you the sum of your parents X & Y chromosomes?…or do you have your own character to add to the mixture?   Can your spirit, the strength inside you, the voice of your conscience be shaped by your not having been born into a safe loving family unit?.  MY parents divorced when we children were young, they separated first, when I was about three, and I only saw my father once, before he died when I was Eighteen. I never knew him, but I dreamt of him, tried to imagine what he was like.  Other things happened, a few good and a lot bad,  to shape me and my siblings… but I hope and pray I’ve turned out OK, I don’t look back and bemoan the fact I missed out…What‘s the point? The past is precisely that… It’s past and gone…Why blame it for what is going on in your life now…Walk forward, you are the sum of your past, present and of course your future… without it you wouldn’t be here now…

So, smoke me a kipper, I’ll be back for breakfast,…..not too salty mind…

LadyP…2010

 

PS/ Red Dwarf is an all time favourite… but like most things, went on too long, and the actors spoiled it in the end, wanting changes to their characters, wanting to shine I suppose../x