Love eh?

rose

If your lady love asks you, quite out of the blue,

“Darling, you know I love you but tell me true

what made you notice me from the crowd?”

don’t answer “ I don’t know, for crying out loud”

Don’t look at the TV watching your favourite team score

whilst wishing she would vanish straight through the floor

Don’t tell her it was the way she could hold seven pints,

or that she was able to crack her little finger joints,

or the way she could ruin your best joke without trying

by butting in with the punch line, leaving the joke dying.

or the way she couldn’t beat you at arm wrestling or darts

just say, quite sweetly, “Baby, you’re No.1 in my charts”

“without you I’d be lost, I’d be worth nothing at all”

Then quickly and quietly remove every last dart from the wall.

LadyP © 2010

 

13 responses to “Love eh?

  1. Oh I like this very muchHope all is well with you Sue

    Like

  2. Hi LadyP, Would you be speaking from experience? I don’t think I will be asking that question. Peace

    Like

  3. cool poem……from a cool lady……. sends a smile lady p@……gawd 2 hours till countdown….lol…..shakes me noggin.. xx

    Like

  4. Wonderful!!

    Like

  5. boy aren’t you full of it this fine day…chuckle

    Like

  6. Heart..Renaissance Man

    animosity… yup sounds like the ol " been there..done that" thing.. heh.. ya. haven’t we all been treated less than what the price tag shows?

    Like

  7. ……………………………..IN MY HUMBLE OPINION………………………………TRUE LOVE IS WHEN ONE NEEDS NEVER TO ASK THE QUESTION AS THE ANSWER RESOUNDS IN EVERY SINGLE SECOND, OF A MINUTE, OF AN HOUR, OF EACH DAY, WEEK, MONTH AND ALL THE MANY MAGNIFICENTLY, ENCHANTINGLY DELICIOUS YEARS THAT FOLLOW.WHEN TWO HEARTS BEAT AS ONE THEN LOVE IS AT ITS PUREST… A STRIKING POEM LADY PENELOPE… ANDROGOTH XXx

    Like

  8. Christine tuley

    Sweet Lady P, I certainly hope your love interest does, and has been reading your lovely posts. If he does he could aquire the key to your heart and be a really happy man! If all men had such a map, they could find true love. Find the one who listens!

    Like

  9. I think she’s better off without him, it wasn’t you and your other half was it? if so I’d better duck for cover. Brilliant as usual though, love to Bess. Bet she wouldn’t put up with him.

    Like

  10. Very Good! Hope u have a Wonderful Weekend! Looking 4ward 2 the game 2moz! Luv PF XXX

    Like

  11. Very cool! I wonder? when you can thinking of this type of poem? Have a great day,Michiko

    Like

  12. awesome…how to keep wify happy..lolawesome writing.tx for sharingMJand indeed Ireland has awesome places…maybe u can visit in future?

    Like

  13. really true feelings here of going right off someone lol ive done it in the past until now when ive found my love for life xxjen

    Like

☞ ...your thoughts in response are very welcome .....☋